What I did today

I woke up to an empty bed and Maelie crying. I mixed her a bottle and when I went to change her diaper, found that she had pooped, too. Double yay. Claire was waiting for me at the top of the stairs, and I told her it was too early to be awake and had her crawl into bed with me.

Twenty minutes later, Matt got home from his run at the gym, handed Claire his phone to play a drawing game and I tried to catch up on my Words with Friends.

Went downstairs, had breakfast, read (The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest,) colored with the kids and played emergency vehicles.

We went to the gym where I was the one to tell the front desk that the yoga class I take got moved from 10 to 11. I’m not even the instructor.

Did some yoga.

Got the kids from daycare, had a conversation with Claire before I even pulled out of the parking lot that consisted of:

Claire: Mom. You can’t drive through the snow. You need to put on your four ways.
Me: Claire, hun. I grew up in Minnesota. We get lots of snow there. Sure, it’s not hilly at all, but still – ice, snow…I get it.
Claire: I still think you should put on the four ways. They’re pretty neat.

Got home, made the kids some lunch. I heated up some of the tomato bisque soup I made the other day, (I mean, wowie is that stuff fantastic,) and heated up some minestrone soup for Mae to eat. That kid loves to feed herself.

I put the kids in the tub and then they went down for naps.

I came downstairs, wrote a blog about the “ten kilometer foot race” bet I have with a coworker of Matt’s, watched the Grey’s Anatomy episode I had missed last night and drank far too much water.

Maelie woke up, I brought her downstairs where she proceeded to find something on the floor and put it in her mouth. Within about two seconds, she was gagging, then choking on the item. I flipped her over, she vomited, and out came a tiny piece of wrapper. It looked like the corner of one of the kids’ fruity flakes. I plopped her down on the floor and she crawled off to find another thing to choke on.

I started to make dough for bread when Claire woke up. She then proceeded to tell me every step and poured every ingredient. (Train ‘em young, I say.) She even know when to get out the dough hook. Smart kid, that Claire. I also made pizza dough to freeze.

Then I moved on to making bulk chocolate chip cookies. I wanted to have some to freeze and some for tonight. While making the chocolate chip cookies, Luca woke up. He had peed the bed, poor kid, so I put him back into the tub, threw his sheets in the wash, took out a batch of cookies, fed Maelie some broccoli (she goes nuts for that stuff,) had Claire stay with Luca for a minute so I could do all of these things, and wondered for a brief moment if cloning humans was really the way to go.

I got Luca out of the tub, wiped Mae down (she had broccoli in her hair,) punched down the dough, shredded potatoes for dinner, washed up some dishes, supervised Claire as she vacuumed, started the dishwasher, gave Mae a bottle and put her in the crib for a quick cat nap, emailed back and forth with my mom where I sent her a list from Damn You Autocorrect and she asked me what DTF stood for, which is always a fun teaching moment. I took away a few more questionable items from Mae, explained to Claire that, no, it’s not a good idea to go outside and play in the snow right now, as it is pitch dark outside, and then helped Luca put on his coat since Claire insisted on pretending they were going outside. For the record, Luca was in a long sleeved shirt, Cars undies and snow boots. He left his pants in the bathroom when he went to go pee. I figure, if he brings himself to the bathroom, if he forgets to put his pants back on, so be it. That’s a cheap price to pay.

Mae woke up from her quick nap, the other two are still down in the basement pretending to be outside, and I sat down to write this out.

However, today was relatively tame.

I shouldn’t have said that, though, because looking at the clock, I still have another 3 1/2 hours until the big ones go to bed.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Good LAWD, you are one busy lady. All this AND you’re a nurse AND you make art AND you’re going to teach spinning? Maybe there’s something to this “working out gives you energy” stuff…

    What a cool exercise! I think I shall try it too. Knowing me, I’ll probably forget that I’m supposed to keep track of everything by 9 a.m.

  2. What the hell are four-ways?

  3. Thank you Bluz. I felt like an idiot when I said I didn’t know what they were either.

    Also, the choking vomiting thing happens to us every time Sarah finds a dead leaf. We have become leaf scavengers and avid vacuumers. Also, do you steam the broccoli first? I think I’m going to let Sarah try some tonight.

    I can’t wait to spend some days with you!

  4. Deb K from Harrisburg

    I was exhausted after reading this post. What’s amazing is that before kids, we thought we had so little time and then once kids were added to the equation, you manage somehow to become super efficient, (though I don’t remember ever being as efficient as Cassie) and then once kids grow up and leave the nest, you return to the phase of “wow, we’re so busy.” “Work expands so as to fill the time available for its completion.” Parkinson’s law according to WIKI (source for all knowledge).

  5. WOW. Talk about a busy mama! I am impressed.

  6. How does a baby feed herself soup? Cannot process.

    Also, I have no idea how you manage to cook so much. I mean, part of me knows that your kids are well-behaved and can entertain themselves, but part of me is like, “CHILDREN WILL DIE IF YOU DON’T WATCH THEM EVERY SECOND.” And I think that’s because less-capable parents have told me that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 536 other followers

