The day before all hell broke loose, I had a really great time.

So the day before one of the worst days of my life, it was Matt and I’s six year wedding anniversary. (Is that right? Matt and I? Grammar Girl is inconclusive.)

The kids were gone the night before, so we got to sleep in (until 8 am!) go to breakfast, and not have a care in the world.

We decided to go to Pamela’s which is one of the best breakfast restaurants in Pittsburgh. Even President Obama loves it there. So we drove into Oakland and waited outside for our turn to be called in.

It wasn’t even 10 AM and Matt was already sick of me taking photos.

You’d think he’d be used to me by now.

I ordered some pancakes and fruit and their potatoes and when it came, I could hardly eat any of it.

Either way, it tasted good, all four bites I consumed and we headed off to downtown to go kayaking.

We’ve planned on going kayaking for years on our anniversary, but for some reason it just never happened. I was still fighting this awful cold, but figured sitting in a kayak on the Allegheny wouldn’t be so difficult.

I wanted to tip him in so bad.

It’s funny how loud it is under the Ft. Duquesne Bridge. I mean, obviously it would be, but I guess it’s just not something you really think about.

Love him!

For the record, he made no attempts to tip me over. So there’s that.

Six years of marriage! And the best part about being married to him is that just the next day, when shit went down, he was there for me, and he’s been there for me every single day since. He hasn’t complained, he’s done everything I’ve asked and he’s even gone beyond what I think would be normally required of him.

And this is just one example of probably a thousand things he’s done for me over the past six years. He’s the best thing that’s ever happened to me, and I am so thankful to have him in my life.

And that he didn’t tip me over into the Mon.

Because those floating dead carp were creepy.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on August 25, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. It’s “Matt and my.” When in doubt, just leave the other person’s name and “and” out :-)

  2. Congrats to both of you! Looks like a beautiful day…
    Hope everything is as fine as it can be and you’re getting cared for by your loving husband, family and friends. Thinking of you and sending positive vibes your way!

  3. Yes, what Emily said. :) Love you from afar. Hang in there and congrats (on everything) :)

  4. Congrats! We just hit 8 (in June). Feels so good to be with someone who really gets you & continues to want to. :) Happy Anniversary!

  5. Congrats to you two. You are an amazing couple and Matt makes the best faces for your photos. Glad you were able to enjoy it.

  6. Whenever you say “Mon”, I can only think of “mons pubis”. This is your fault.

    You two are the very least romantic couple I know. And therefore I hate you much less than everyone else. Just kidding! Not about the hating you part. But nothing says romance like dead carp, or at least that’s what I tell myself every year when I’m being forced to eat fish as part of some anniversary tasting menu.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 520 other followers

