Trying to stay sane.

Limited activity is for the birds. How anyone would choose to be near completely inactive is beyond me.

And not to mention my usual pregnancy related dizziness has finally reared its ugly head. (If you don’t remember, when I was pregnant with Luca I passed out at work, hit my head off the copier and is still talked about…nearly 4 years later. Hey! We got a new copier out of it.)

So I’ve been spending a lot of time sitting around. This then forces the kids to get creative. Because I like to keep the TV babysitter on reserve for when I’ve finally had enough of their incessant questions, I tell them, “Go play.”

I’m sure we all as kids remember our parents saying those two words. Go. Play.

I suppose it’s better than saying go away. Or go play in traffic.

Either way, they’ve done a pretty good job these last few weeks.

They’ve enjoyed endless amounts of strawberries and then strawberry stained shirts.

They have sympathized with me on the couch. (And people say I don’t post enough pictures of Luca. Well, he’s difficult to say the least.)

They’ve worked on their fine acting skills for when they open acceptance letters 16 years down the line.

They have been cooperating. Probably out of guilt.

They haven’t changed in the fact that it’s next to impossible to get a decent photo of them all at once. (Can you smell what the Rock is cooking, Claire?)

They sometimes brush their hair. Emphasizing on sometimes.

They’ve gone legitimately stir crazy. (And I have on idea what’s on Luca’s face. Best not to know.)

They have handed me my camera and shouted “CHEESE” at me.

They have worked on being stylish.

Luca’s insisted on eating nothing but salad.

Maelie’s been covering herself in stickers.

I’ve been going crazy.

With my best Claire right beside me.

All for the sake of baby.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on September 7, 2012, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Great post! Love the pictures and captions! I know this being stuck in the house/being inactive is so very difficult for you but as you posted “for the sake of the baby” AND it is such a short period of time in the grand scheme of life. (not that that makes it any easier right at this moment but hey). You are doing a great job. Keep it up. TEAMBABY!

  2. I just love you. :) And there’s a difference between choosing to sit down and not doing anything and HAVING to sit down and not do anything. For the latter you’re experiencing “I don’t wanna do it unless you tell me I CAN’T.”

  3. If you want, I can give you lessons on how to do nothing. I’m really quite good at it, like an artist… It’s like non-performance art. Unfortunately, Step One required locking the kids in the fruit cellar. It’s easier that way.

    Speaking of kids, how did you get the football helmet on Baby? It looks like he has a facemask. Or maybe he’s a baby Darth Vader.

    • Deb K from Harrisburg

      As I sit here on a Friday evening all alone having had one adult beverage (which is my limit) and having gotten sidetracked with the Interwebs instead of sewing simple curtains that I swore I was going to do after work, I too can give you lessons. Meanwhile your loss (of productiveness, activity, etc.) is our gain because this photo essay was just outstanding. Hope the weekend passes quickly. Is this week 3 or 4 of limited activity?

  4. Ugh. Limited anything sucks pretty bad. What’s great is now that my body hates me when I move, I feel the urge to clean, retrieve, prepare everything in my house. Why is that?

  5. I can’t get over that first photo of Mae and that last photo of CBEW. I’m glad that you’re spending your down time taking these great photos of your kids and entertaining us with them. If you have to be down, at least make all your blog friends happy, right? :)

    You’ll be back on your feet soon, and if you’re still down when I visit, then I’ll sit next to you and we’ll laugh. :)

  6. It looks like CB-Eww has braids coming off either side of his or her head. I think you should name it Heidi whether it’s a boy or a girl.

    I wanted to describe these pictures as “precious”, but your kids aren’t precious. They’re cooler than that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 518 other followers

