Love, Claire

Are you ready? It’s time to wake up…

I’m going to be Wonder Woman today.

Yes. Yes you are. Let’s get ready.

Eight hours later we were at home and Claire was extra sensitive. She fell in love with a two month old kitten that she named Squiggles.

Squiggles got adopted.

Will Squiggles know I loved her? Will she know I cared?

Claire, it’s OK. She’s at her new home. You helped her find a new home.

I bet she’s running around right now. And finding her perfect spot in the sun.

When I was a kid, I wanted to save everything. The Earth, animals, people. I wanted to make sure that everything was happy. I spent hours reading about how I can fix the Earth, thought of countless ways I could help animals, and even things I could do to help my neighbor.

I was 12 or 13 when I volunteered at our local Humane Society. I cleaned the cages out, gated up the entrance so the healthy kitties could roam free and be out of a cage, if even for a few minutes.

I scrubbed down dog kennels, took them for walks, taught them how to sit.

So, when I told Claire about what I did, and how it made me happy, she of course had to do it, too.

I’m going to save the animals, mom. I’m going to save them all.

This isn’t new news to us. Claire’s done quite a bit for the Animal Rescue League of Pittsburgh in the past two years.

But yesterday I got to have my fun.

After hours and hours of time spent organizing and stressing, the big day came – the Spinathon.

Claire and I got to the gym a little after 7 and I immediately started running around setting up banners, donations, fans, and tables. Since I use the big group fitness room for the spinathon, that relocates the regularly scheduled classes elsewhere about the gym. Because of this, I made sure the other rooms were set up and ready, too. Yoga moved into the spin room, and if you’ve ever been in our spin room, it’s dark, cold and a bit musky. To show the members I was very sorry to displace them for a day, I swept the rooms – twice – and mopped. So while they downward dogged, they also got to smell lemons.

So let’s get down to it.

photo 4 (3)

 

Wonder Woman was in the house.

photo 4 (5)

 

Selfies were in the house.

photo 3 (7)

A lot of selfies.

We took a photo every hour. Since I taught the last three hours, obviously I had to have some fun with it.

photo 3 (5)

And the spinners were enthusiastic.

photo 5 (5)

photo 2 (10)

Three spinners went for all seven hours. Ron, above and Sarah and Bill, below.

photo 3 (4)

They’re crazy.

10173401_10203793261580310_1198640000_n

 

photo 1 (10)

 

10261753_10203793272300578_1105347243_n

 

photo 1 (14)

Again, Claire’s Taekwondo instructors came out to support her. Two years running. They’re so amazing.

Guys. It was so much fun. SO much fun. While sure, it was tiring,┬áin the end, we raised just over 1200 dollars. There’s plenty of time to get your donations in to make Claire the top fundraiser (aside from the executive director!)

photo 5

*******************

So fun news. While typing this up, I got a call from the ARL asking if we could be there at 3 to meet some news crews.

WPXI (Channel 11,) KDKA (Channel 2) and the Tribune came out for interviews. So look for her tonight on the news! Then tomorrow (or later?) in the paper! She was also asked to be interviewed for WHIRL Magazine, the Post Gazette AND Valley News.

I’ll update more as I hear!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on April 14, 2014, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That is so great! Claire just seems like such an amazing little kid!

  2. I am so happy for Claire and all of you that you got to raise so much money! And if some little girl can save all the animals in the world, I bet it’s Claire…
    So exciting that she will be on all the news channels! Can you link to the broadcasts if they are available online?

  3. I love your spinning selfies. Also, how does one teach for three hours? What do you say to them? Just keep spinning, just keep spinning… ;) So great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 536 other followers

