Daylight

When Audrey was born, and she would cry, I would sing her the song Daylight by Ron Pope. There was no rhyme or reason as to why, it was just a song that was stuck in my head at the time and it was calm, so I’d sing it. After I ran through the song four or five times, I’d just keep singing the ba da da da da… over and over.

I never really paid attention to the lyrics, I mean, how often do you really think about what you sing from memory? How often do you sit and think about the true meaning of the lyrics?

Tonight Audrey was upset. Like super upset. Wouldn’t eat dinner, didn’t want her drink, just angry. I brought her upstairs and she cried as I put her in her jams. She cried as I rubbed her feet with oil. She cried when I picked her up.

Then I started singing Daylight, and she stopped. She just… stopped.

I asked Luca to go get my phone, which he did, and I put on the song and sang along. She sat in my lap and stared at me in silence.

Those that aren’t new to my writings know that Audrey came to be in an unconventional way. And when I finally accepted her to be a thing, I nearly lost her. It was an awful place to be in.

So I finally looked up the lyrics and read what I’ve been singing for 14 months. All this time, it’s been a song of mutual understanding between Audrey and me. The first part, me singing to her, the final part, her singing to me.

Tonight was just a calm, dark room with this beautiful song pouring out as we searched each others eyes for the truth of how she came to be.

And I’m so glad she came to be.

 

I’ve seen sad 
Dark times
And I have waited for the sun to rise
I’ve seen sad
Dark times
And waited for rain

All I know is whenever I am far from home
There are nights when words seem out of place

I have walked alone and the stars have tried to guide me home
I have walked alone
Lost in the fog

All I find are faded pictures from a distant life
And I wish to God I could see your eyes

I ain’t got no magic potion
All I know is that we’re better off together than we ever were alone
So if you let me try
Just give me time,
Oh
Woman I will find a way to help you ease your troubled mind

If the morning comes I’ll be thankful just to see the sun
But the daylight seems so far away

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on April 30, 2014, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Just perfect and so very beautiful.

    Also, both my girls had a case of the angry tonight too.

  2. Sounds like a perfect magic moment …

    I am glad she came to be, too, and she came to be together with you and your family…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 520 other followers

