Tomfoolery in the laundry room

So, a few days ago, I was doing laundry in my apartment’s laundry room. It’s a completely open section of the building that anyone off the street can walk into, much like a normal Laundromat. Now, I’ve been doing laundry there often since I moved in over a year ago and have never had an issue. Never. That is until last Monday. It seemed that day I was the only one using the facilities, so I took up five washers, using one of them solely for bras. Six bras to be exact. My intentions were to wash them and then hang them sporadically in my apartment, to dry.

About an hour later I went to put my clothes in the dryer. When I opened the washer with all the bras, it was completely empty. That seemed odd because I remembered putting them in there. I searched all the other washers thinking I was just having a blond moment (which frequently happens) and had put them somewhere else. But they had totally disappeared. Completely confused, it took me a few minutes to realize that someone had seriously stolen my lingerie. Once that sunk in, I realized how freaked out and disturbed I felt. I mean, come on, who steals bras and nothing else? At that moment, a million thoughts raced through my head. Had someone watched me fill the washer and waited for me to leave? Was it a woman or a man who took them? If it was a woman, she was probably just some crazy kleptomaniac with good taste in undergarments. (I’m talking high quality bras from Victoria’s Secret after all!) If it was a man, then, ew. I don’t even want to imagine what a man was doing with my bras. But the more I tried not to imagine it, the more I did.

I racked my brain trying to remember if I had seen anyone after filling the washers. The only person I could think of was the middle-aged male bug exterminator that was spraying the grounds near the laundry room. Did he take them? Was he a bug exterminator by day and a cross-dressing transvestite by night? It didn’t seem logical, but then again, neither did my bizarre situation. I decided against putting up a sign in the laundry room, not wanting to draw attention to myself. I just wanted to block out the thought of some creeper in my underwear as soon as possible.

The feeling of creepiness has since subsided and now I’m just pissed. Those were some of my favorite bras and I really don’t want to spend the money to replace them. I’m thinking I’ll make due with what I have and wait until Christmas rolls around, where they’ll be on the top of my wish-list. (Hear that Santa?) I suppose who ever took them needed them more than I did, and I hope, tranny or not, that they’re in a good home. Good bye my lacy friends. You served the girls well and you will be missed.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on September 3, 2009, in Carly, WTF. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oh yikes, that’s creeeepy. And also very sad for you to mourn the passing of SIX good bras!! My oh my.

  2. Oh, no! Six good bras are worth their weight (practically) in rubies. Oh, that is nasty-terrible. So sorry. The world of women understands, though. we do.

  3. i was driving through town today and saw that creepy middleaged man with the bug van. he was shirtless and had on one of your bras…so i got out and chased him but he ran faster than me though as i am out of shape so he got away. 🙂

  4. Man, that’s cold.

    I remember when I last had to deal with an apartment laundromat, the worst thing I had to deal with was cleaning out someone else’s lint from the trap. Bleah…

Leave a Reply

