Laziness: My Patriotic Duty

Have you ever had a day where you did absolutely nothing? I mean, not because you were sick and needed to stay in bed, or anything, but just felt like doing nothing? Well, today was my nothing day and here’s how it went:

To start, I awoke at the prompt hour of 11:00am and thought about all the things I wanted to accomplish (see, I started with some ambition). There were a few e-mails I had put off, and some homework to attend to. But, instead I did what I do best and procrastinated. After much debate, I decided to watch a few recommended BBC dramas on Netflix and eat lunch (since breakfast had clearly come and gone hours ago). Nothing like some stuffy British Victorian-era repression to start one’s day. After much incessant television watching, I called sister #2 for a bit, put together a crock pot dinner, called my mother, and googled local real estate prices with absolutely no intentions to buy. By 7:00pm, I finally took a shower, only to change from one set of pajamas to another. Nope, I never even put on real clothes today. And, I never went outside, since that would require real clothing. (To my lazy ass’s credit, it was raining, so I saw no need to venture outdoors).

Now, please don’t get the wrong idea about me. I may have been a bit lazy today, but this is by no means my regular routine. Usually my days are filled with work, whether it’s real work, internship work, homework, or nanny work. But today was Labor Day, and so I only did what Uncle Sam wanted me to do. Basically, it was my patriotic duty to be lazy. However, Labor Day or not, I believe we all deserve a day without accomplishments (and without guilt). I hope you all enjoy a lazy day of your own in the near future. 🙂

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on September 7, 2009, in Carly. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Two corrections. Your sister called you. I called you. Twice. You didn’t even have to dial the phone yesterday! LOL

  2. That sounds fantastic!

  3. You spent Labor Day in exactly the manner it should be spent… to stop your labor and take a break. No worries!

  4. Yeah, but I have a problem with the name of “Labor Day”. Shouldn’t we be calling it “NO Labor Day”? Good for you being lazy 🙂

Leave a Reply

