Rod Stewart and the Historical Society

A few weeks ago I started an internship at our neighboring county’s Historical Society. (Surprise! I’m a nerd!) Anyway…It’s basically a big ol’ mansion with more than its fair share of creaks and noises. The first floor is like walking through a time capsule. Every piece of artwork and furniture is as it was in 1900. The second floor is a series of exhibits that, in theory, have something to do with the history of the county. I say “in theory” because most of the exhibits are poorly displayed and in need of a total historical make-over.

The third floor is off limits to the public, and for good reason. This is where “stuff” goes. Stuff that the board members don’t know what to do with, and instead of throwing it away (because the majority of it is junk), they keep it. Forever. In addition to stuff, there is dust. The first time I was up there I noticed a distinct odor. It smelled like an old lady’s bathroom. No, I don’t spend a lot of time in bathrooms belonging to old women, but I have been in a few, and they all have that same smell. Ew. Aside from the smell, the third floor is just overall creepy. There are many days when I’m up there with my co-intern Ben and we’re the only ones in the house. We always lock the door two floors below us, but the quiet is very unsettling. Throughout the mansion are a series of motion sensors that go off is something moves past them. Needless to say, it’s very eerie when they go off and no one else in in the building.

The other day, Ben and I were the only ones in the whole mansion, so we did a little exploring (and slacking off) in the attic. We made our way into an old bathroom-turned-mannequin/hat room and played dress up. I started trying on some hats that were anywhere from 50 to 100 years old. Women back in the old days must’ve had small heads because NOTHING fit me. Either that or my mother was right when she constantly reminds me I have a big head. Further in our exploration I stumbled upon a pile of wigs. Most were boring brown wigs with no personality, but one stood out. It was a long, blond, mullet wig, and it was amazing! Obviously I had to try it on. At the exact time I was playing dress-up, Cassie (sister #2) sent me a text showing me her new hair-do because she just cut off all her hair for locks of love. Immediately I replied with my mullet pic, asking her if she liked MY hair. Here is the photo:

mullet pic

I’m not sure what a Rod Stewart-like mullet has to do with a county Historical Society, but I don’t care. It made my day fabulous.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on September 17, 2009, in Bright Ideas, Carly, Organization, WTF and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I especially love how the mannequin is staring at you in the photo 🙂

  2. That is hilarious! Just goes to show you never know what you’re going to find in someone else’s attic – LOL!

  3. Hahaha!!! I bet she was not expecting THAT response!

  4. I bet Cassie had a spit-take…

    And “The Sisters” is right… that mannequin is giving you the eye, like, “what the hell are you doing with my hair?”

Leave a Reply

