I’m so friggin’ annoyed

So why is breastfeeding so disturbing to people? I’ve nursed both my kids and have had to pump. At my job  I have the option of going to an overflow unit. So if that unit is full, I can’t use it. I just stick with the locker room where a lot of people have access to. Is it embarrassing? Sure. Probably more for the people walking in on me, though. Does it irritate me? Not any more. It used to, though.

Where is all this coming from you ask? Because I read this. My favorite part about this is the comments. I love how people say it’s gross and inappropriate to see someone breastfeeding their child in public. Now, sure it’d be inappropriate if the mom’s boobs are all over the place and they’re not attempting to be discreet, but seriously? Baby’s gotta eat, too. I am the master of public breastfeeding, but I try to keep it at a minimum because I know people frown on it. But when Luca’s hungry and I’m out to eat or something, sorry people, I’m gonna feed him.

Wait, I take that back. I’m not sorry. My kids are healthy, well fed and THEY WERE BREASTFED. Oh snap!

Next issue with this article: THEY MADE HER PUMP AT A SPECIFIC TIME IN THE BATHROOM. Let’s let that soak in.

THE BATHROOM?!? That’s so gross. I’d love to tell all the haters to go eat in the bathroom. Do you like it? No, probably not. So why should my small child with a weaker immune system eat food that was pumped in a friggin’ bathroom? Here baby, eat some bacteria. It’s yum-tastic!

To the people that have a problem with breastfeeding, don’t watch. And I hope to God you’re not a smoker. Because I know that smokers take an ‘unauthorized’ break (or 20), too.

Now excuse me while I go nurse my baby.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on September 18, 2009, in Cassie, what annoys me and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. People are disturbed because deep down this is a repressed society and so many people have lost the ability to empathize.

    As long as you’re making an effort not to brazenly squirt your baby from across the table, screw’em!

    Child’s gotta eat!

  2. You know, when I first started, there was a lactation room on the 4th floor near our office. I wonder whatever happened to that?

Leave a Reply

