The happiest place on Earth

Where else can you go with a smile plastered on your face, run around giddy and sing and dance? Ikea. That’s where.

After a lovely breakfast at Eat ‘n Park (it’s the place for smiles, you know) we were driving on 28 and I said to Matt how I wanted to get some frames for Claire’s AWESOME artwork. Clearly, I’ve birthed the next Picasso. So I casually suggested we go to Ikea. I mean, since we WERE on our way and all…and he said, “Sure, why not?” (Note: we were about 2 miles from home and 15 miles from Ikea. You do the math.)

If it weren’t for me being behind the wheel, I would have done a double take. I usually have to beg. Typically a trip to Ikea has me saying, I want this and this and this and this…oh and this, too! And he says, “Um, no.” Then my hopes and dreams are shattered and I leave with a lamp and bamboo.

We got to Ikea and here’s the scene: Me with my permasmile, Claire hop-hop-hopping, Matt looking optimistic and Luca ‘flying’ on Matt’s shoulder. (Flying is where he will put both his arms out and bobble on his belly high up on a shoulder. It looks like he just jumped out of a plane.)

Claire and I chased eachother through the displays, we jumped on beds, we danced to the music, we toured the bathrooms and kitchens that are better than ours and basically ran amok. Matt and Luca were much better behaved.

I filled my cart with frames, prints, a picture rail, a clock,  more frames and a lot more prints. It was a beautiful thing.

At this very moment I am sitting on the couch surrounded by my purchases. I feel warm and fuzzy like Christmas morning. When the kids wake up from their naps I plan on going to town…I can’t wait to see how everything looks all prettied up on the wall! (I know, I’m still giddy.)

Thank god the Steelers don’t play until tonight. That means I’ll have a third of Matt’s attention to get this done. Damn you fantasy football for taking the other two-thirds. But it seems to be a fair trade off: Matt gets his football, I get my Ikea purchases. And THAT ladies and gents is what marriage is all about!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 4, 2009, in Cassie, Communication Skills, Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I love IKEA, I really do. But it makes me feel sad most of the time because I CAN’T have that kitchen or living room or big fluffy pillow 😦 I settle for candle holders, but it’s not the same. Although that IKEA chair has been quite handy in the three years since I bought it….Hmmmm…I forgot about that.

  2. Ohhhh, IKEA is the best! Seriously.

    And stupid fantasy football. I pretty much don’t have a husband anymore because of it.

  3. I LOVE IKEA SO MUCH.

    I also love the idea of you and your family running through there like a scene from (500) Days of Summer.

  4. Sooooooo jealous. I want to go to Ikea. Right now. And yeah, my boyfriend is mysteriously missing Sundays and Mondays. The kidnapper is Fantasy Football.

  5. Oh. TWO fantasy football leagues my boyfriend is in. By the way.

  6. Shopping Afterglow! Woooooooooo!

    I felt that way on Sunday morning, when I went to a Pittsburgh-area K-Mart and went crazy in the Steelers gear department. Got Christmas presents for Dad, brother, both nephews, and a pile of swag for ME! Online shopping just isn’t the same.

    Oh, Cassie, because I know you’ve been checking, I finally have a new post up, covering my ‘Burgh road trip. (part 1)

Leave a Reply

