I drove home in silence.

I promised myself I’d never get attached again. But today I broke that promise.

As I have mentioned before, there are days when I love my job. Then there are days when I hate my job. Today was that day. 

Yesterday we thought it was a simple case of H1N1 (swine flu.) Today it was Lukemia.

When the doctor came to tell him, his wife had gone home to tend to their sick son, so I stood there with the oncologist when he broke the news. When the doctor left, he looked at me and said, “OK… I guess we have our answer now, huh?” I stayed with him while he called his wife. He was obviously fighting back tears. I sat with him in silence for what must have seemed like forever to him. Then he simply looked at me and thanked me. He thanked me. He was diagnosed with a possibly fatal disease and he thanked me. I gave him a hug and told him he’d beat it and that I was so very sorry. I then told him that I was going to say a prayer for him. I don’t pray for just anyone. (Which is very true.) Then I left before he’d see me cry.

I stood outside of his door and tears started to roll down my face.

I drove home in silence.

 

You are in my thoughts and prayers tonight Mr. V. You are in my every last thought.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 10, 2009, in Cassie, Nursing. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh my darling girl. Oh Mr. V. You now share a bond no one envies or desires. But thank god you were there, Cass. I thank god for you. I’m very proud of you.

  2. Mr. V was lucky to have one as caring as you to be there for him. What you do should never be undervalued nor underestimated.

  3. This is exactly why you are good at what you do. I’ve had moments like that, patients that just pulled at my heartstrings. It’s unsettling, but in the end, you were there for him when no one else could be.

  4. Oh, geez. I’m gonna pray for Mr. V. too.

  1. Pingback: Blood drive « Sisters From Different Misters

  2. Pingback: All I want for christmas « Sisters From Different Misters

Leave a Reply

