Conversations with Claire

So, I have to admit, Cassie’s blog about me earlier this week made me a little teary-eyed, and that’s no easy task! She actually called and read it to me over the phone. The things that girl remembers about growing up… Don’t worry. I have plenty of old Cassie stories I can share with the world…but I will save that for another blog. This blog is all about the joys of being an Auntie.

While making dinner the other night, I noticed I had a missed call from my sister on my cell phone. I was about to check the voice mail message when my phone rang again. And again it was from Cassie. Thinking something had to be wrong if she called twice within about 3 minutes, I answered in a bit of a panic. “Hello??? Cassie??” Nothing. Except for a lot of heavy breathing. That’s when I knew it was Claire, not Cassie, and she was “playing” with mommy’s phone. So, I proceeded to carry on a conversation with a two year old the best I could.

Me: “Claire, did you call Auntie Carly?”

Claire: “Yeah! Auntie!”

Me: “What does a phone say?”

Claire: “Ring ring!”

Me: “Claire, can you sing the Hot Dog song?”

Claire: “Hot dog, hot dog!”

Me: “Claire, where’s baby?”

Claire: “Baby. Mama.”

Me: “Do you love baby?”

Claire: “Yeah!”

Me: “Am I going to see you tomorrow?”

Claire: “Yeah!”

Me: “Are we going to have a fun day?”

Claire: “Yeah!”

Me: “Claire, do you like Daisy Duck?”

Claire: “Yeah, Daisy!”

Me: “Claire, can you give the phone to mommy?”

Claire: “Yeah!”

Cassie: “Claire, what are you doing with mommy’s phone? Did you call Auntie Carly?”

Well, Cassie and I proceeded to talk after that. I thought it was just so sweet that Claire called me and I think it was the best phone conversation I had all day. Her vocabulary may be limited, but we understand each other. Today while I was babysitting her, she said to me numerous time, “Hi, Auntie!” and I just smiled and said “Hi, Claire Bear!” When I gave her a toy or fed her she said “xie xie, Auntie!” (which sounds like shay shay and means thank you in Mandarin. It’s easier to say than thank you!) When I was vacuuming the house, she followed behind me with a Swiffer Mop and “helped”. Claire is such a little doll and I just love watching her grow and learn. And best of all, I love that she knows me and trusts me. I couldn’t ask for anything more.

For her birthday last Monday, I should have gotten her a cell phone so she could call me anytime! Two years old isn’t too young for a cell phone, is it? Perhaps I’ll wait until next year. Such a grumpy face!Claire and Carly 2nd birthday

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 16, 2009, in Carly, the kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ok, so now I’M teary!! Loved this. Claire called me twice and left messages on the voice mail. Then she called me and I answered (because I wasn’t on the phone) and we had a similar conversation about Hot Dog, Daisy, and Mr. Potato Head (her favorite right now, BTW). She also said “auntie” a few times which led me to believe she’d talked to you, too 🙂 I LOVE this family thing we’ve got going. I might have started us off on a rocky road with various daddies and such, but look at us now 🙂 Yay us!

  2. Yay for being an auntie!

  3. Aww, this post leaves my heart all filled up!

  4. “Xie xie, Auntie!”

    I am typing this from the afterlife, as I have DIED of the CUTE.

Leave a Reply

