the past, the present and the today show

Our Mom. She’s pretty awesome. If you haven’t checked out her website, it’s conveniently located on the right hand column for your enjoyment.

Anyways, our Mom. She’s so f’ing cool. I guess why the public likes her is because she lost a lot of weight. Sure, that’s fine and dandy, but let me tell you something they don’t know. She’s my hero. In the past I have said a million times about how this person is my hero or that person is my hero. And while I still do think of Tamilee Webb in such a positive light, she’s no Lynn.

Our Mom has been married a time or two (or four) had us girls and raised us as a single mother. To some, she’s a statistic, yes, but with such a positive outcome. I remember when we moved back to Minnesota for a few years, that woman, let me tell you, worked 40 hours a week as a secretary for the president of a huge construction company, went to college on the weekends and still raised us. When she graduated we had a nice family party and she gave Carly and I an award for being awesome daughters. Sure it was rough having Mom gone a lot, but she didn’t have to give us an award. If anything, she should have gotten one. OK, so it was in the form of a college degree, but you get the point. I look around at my life and wonder where my room is to complain EVER. I have a husband who graciously works full time which allows me to work only two days a week. We have a beautiful house, awesome kids that I get to see EVERY DAY, DAYS OFF, your oh-so-common Kodak Moments on the couch with the whole family, an annoying dog and two annoying cats.

Growing up, it really didn’t bother me that I didn’t have all those things. We got to move into really neat places. Mom would tell us about the new apartment and I would spend days trying to picture in my head what it would look like.

Family trips were 100% memorable. She took us to Gettysburg once and I can remember everything as if it was video taped and I watched it 10 minutes ago. She always made sure to book a hotel that had a pool because that is super high priority when you’re 10.

I could go on forever.

Anyways, the public loves her because she lost weight and wrote a blog about it. She lost something like 170 pounds. Totally normal, right?

So when Claire was first born Mom was on the Oprah show. Yes, that Oprah. It was surreal. Then she was in People Magazine for the Half Their Size edition. So of course, the next thing would be to promote it on the Today Show, because that’s what normal people do, apparently. Oh, and that evening she also did Entertainment Tonight. My Mom. No shit. She also turned down the Tyra show because she had to watch Claire. I protested and told her I’d  call off of work. Tyra!! She’s totally the ANTM wonder woman! Priorities…pssh.

So next Monday, you better be watching the 3rd hour of the Today Show, because SHE’S BAAAAACK! And being inducted into the Joy Fit Club officially, even though she was already featured in her most recent book (now available in Spanish and paperback!) You’ll know where to find me.

You know how parents always say, “I’m so proud of you.” I’m so totally proud of my mom.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 26, 2009, in Cassie, Tamilee Webb. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thank you, honey. I’m bawling my eyes out right now. I can barely type this damn comment 🙂 I love you.

  2. WOW! What a determined lady! She’s a bachelor girl if ever I saw one 🙂

  3. All I can say is that judging from you and your sister, your mom must have done a damned fine job. And my next order of business is to check out her blog. You ladies are all rock stars! bluz

  4. Cassie, I love this blog! But it’s the 4th hour of the Today Show that she’ll be on. The one with Kathy Lee and Hoda. Some places show it at 10am, others show it at 2pm. Go figure.

    Our Mom is kick-ass!

Leave a Reply

