can i get a what-what?

I’m not really a religious person, but thank GOD this day is almost over. I won’t get into specifics, but my day at work included (but not limited to):

*Getting punched

*Getting kicked

*Getting spit towards (it wasn’t directed at me, but oh yes, I got the spray)

*Getting peed on.

*Worked 12 hours, but didn’t get a lunch break. (Damn boob pumping came first.)

*Did I say I got kicked? Because I did, twice.

I was so tired, I could hardly see straight. Then I come home and find out that Luca went down for a nap at 5:30 and was still sleeping….AT 8 ‘O FRIGGIN CLOCK. Sigh. So I had to wake him up, entertain him and make him think that it was just a nap and not really bed time. When he’s up at 4 a.m. thinking it’s time to boogie, you bet your ass it won’t be me sitting up with him. Hecks no.

So it’s a hockey night in Pittsburgh…er, Columbus. Go Pens!

Lastly, Happy Halloween. My little kitty and skeleton pirate will be out trick or treating tomorrow. I’m sure I’ll post pictures. How can I not?

Peace out.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 30, 2009, in Cassie, Nursing, Over Dramatic, Penguins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Dayum… rough day. And I thought I had it tough because I had a headache from reading small print all day.

    I bow to the nursing profession!

    At least the Pens won… Wooooooooooooooooooooooo

  2. DUUUUUDE. Punched, kicked and peed on? You need a Purple Heart with your paycheck, STAT.

  3. I’m reading a book right now called “Love and Death” – it’s excellent and it’s really about how to live, really live. Anyway, the man who wrote it is a former UU minister, former as in he died recently from cancer. Anyway, he wrote a passage about nurses that I know you’ll appreciate. Here it is:

    “Be kind to the nurses. For one thing, you may very well be in their way [he’s talking to visitors of patients in the hospital here], and they have a job to do. But there is another, more important, reason. Your kindness to them will help remind them that what they are doing is more than a job; it is a ministry. All of us who have good hospital stays have been blessed with good nurses. With their smiles and gentle touch, even when they are obliged to hurt us, they remind us that there are people in our bodies. Nurses are heroes. Thank them for caring so kindly for your loved one. It will break through the grim routine of their work and remind them of how truly special they are.”

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

