’tis the season

This is my favorite time of the year. I love to give, cook and be crafty. I especially love that I have kids, so they can give all the gifts I loved to give my parents. You know what I mean… home made frames, decorated random objects … pencil holders. You know. Stuff like that.

Last night as Matt and I were laying in bed (at 8:30…sad I know) he casually mentioned to me that he had to bring in items for the food shelf just like we do every year. His company has a ‘friendly’ competition amongst all the other offices around the U.S. Last year they lost to Cleveland (which no one likes to lose to Cleveland) and so he made a bold statement that he was going to bring in 125 items all on his own.

However…they’re due tomorrow. So I sit up and say, “You need HOW MANY ITEMS??? BY WHEN???” Now, I like to believe I don’t freak out much, but that’s a lot of stuff I had to get. Matt then turns to me and says, “Don’t worry about it, I’ll go tomorrow night after the kids are in bed.”

But wait! Then Pens play tonight. So I did the goodwill shopping on my own today. I had big plans today none of which involved shopping for the food shelf, so I grumbled a bit.

Today I packed up the kids and we headed to the store. And can I just say I had the most fun time ever? I felt so guilty for even being slightly mad that I had to do this.

Claire wanted to walk, so I had her put things in the cart. I kept on telling her that not everyone gets to eat all the great food she loves and so we’re doing this to make someone’s life a little better. She just enjoyed picking out 10 different flavors of jell-o and cake mixes, dried black beans and brown rice. I tried to keep a running count, but lost track after the fifth or sixth person commented on how adorable Luca is, and me saying, “Thanks!” so I just kept putting things in the basket.

After we checked out, I looked at the receipt. 129 items. With the 26 items we already had set aside, that put us well over the 125 mark Matt said.

The kids and I then drove downtown to Matt’s office to drop off the food. His co-worker Mark came down with him to the garage and they grabbed all the 20 bags and we proceeded to head up the elevator to the 28th floor, Claire carrying a box of scalloped potatoes.

Win or lose, what an awesome thing it is to give. However, I think we’re going to kick Cleveland’s ass.

On another note, his company also does Toys for Tots every year. This year we got a 12 year old girl and I have no friggin’ clue what to get for her. I want to get her something super awesome, but I’m at such a loss. Any ideas?

 

Here at Sisters From Different Misters, we’re reminding you that sometimes your day doesn’t go the way you want it to, but be glad you can put food on your table.

’tis the season to give not get. Make sure to donate to your local food shelf!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 19, 2009, in Bright Ideas, Cassie, Communication Skills, Walmart and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Cleveland must be defeated at all costs, in any competition, from football, to tiddlywinks, to pantry-stuffing!

  2. 129 items. You guys? You ROCK.

    Re. the 12-year-old, hit up Claire’s, dude. She’ll be on that like a duck on a junebug.

Leave a Reply

