It was all in vein, er, I mean vain.

First off I want to say, MY SEMESTER IS OVER AND I CAN HAVE A LIFE AGAIN!!! But only for exactly 3 weeks, because then I have to start all over again. *sigh* However, this little break from books and papers and internships allows me to actually write a few blogs and contribute again! I have to say though, Cassie has done a fabulous job of writing diligently and carrying my ass…

Speaking of Cassie, today I went with her to donate blood. It was my first time and the thought of a needle draining my veins was slightly terrifying. After all the paperwork, I was taken to another room and checked for anemia. My iron was good but for some reason my heart rate was too high. The guy checking it kept telling me to calm down, but the more I tried, the worse it got. He kept saying, “you have to calm down. If you don’t keep your heart rate down while you give blood it could be dangerous.” Yeah, THAT’S a good way to relax someone…tell them they’re in danger. A few minutes of deep breathing and I was good to go. I then went to “the chair.” But, when the phlobotomist stuck me with the needle, she had a difficult time finding a vein. Apparently mine are small and stubborn. She stuck me and then stuck me again, and then again until I was wincing in pain. In the end, my tiny vein collapsed and she was unable to find one that worked, leaving me with nothing but one bruised and sore arm. At least I tried, right??

Overall, there was an excellent turnout at this blood drive and I hope it proves helpful for Cassie’s patient.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on December 20, 2009, in Bright Ideas, Carly. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. At first I read “anemia” as “enema” and I thought, “It’s been awhile since I’ve given blood, but I don’t remember them giving me an enema first!” LOL

    Your arms’s going to look nasty for a few days. Maybe it can get you out of work on Christmas Eve!

  2. So sorry about the blood-giving mishap. Getting poked like that repeatedly would probably put me off donating forever. I’ve been lucky enough to be blessed with veins big enough to hit with a dart from across the room. While drunk. And blindfolded.

  3. Carly…you gave it everything you got. Not to mention the look on your face was horrified while being repeatively jabbed with a 16 gauge needle…

  4. Look at the bright side. Now you can knock someone off and the state won’t be able to inject you lethally. So you got that going for you… which is nice. I have this anaconda vein in my arm. The technicians get uncomfortably excited and I usually have to calm them down.

  5. I’m not sure that came out right… the vein in my arm thing. You know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

