thinking got me in trouble

For some reason or another, my body thinks that 5 hours of sleep is acceptable.

At 4 a.m. I heard Luca stirring. I got up and guided myself around the pillow that is always on the floor at the foot of the bed, courtesy of Matt, and made my way into the nursery. I changed Luca’s diaper and while I was sitting on the rocker feeding him, I kept my eyes open. Usually during night time feedings, I sit there with my eyes closed and it takes every bit of brain cells to remind myself to not fall asleep in the chair.

I sat there in the rocker noticing the job I did touching up the baseboards and thinking to myself I’m damn slick, I didn’t even need tape. I didn’t royally eff it up like I usually would, such as getting the wall and then needing to drag out that paint as well.

Then I thought to the Janet Evanovich book I’m reading and how I was only 10 pages from the end of the fifth book in the series, and I was wondering how it would end. Then I started thinking about how the Pens lost last night.

Thinking got me in trouble.

I thought too damn much and now my brain is awake. It’s 4:55. I just yawned. But it’s not the, holy crap I’m so dead-ass tired I should really go back to bed yawn. No. It’s the you could probably use some more oxygen type yawn. So dissapointing.

So when I laid in bed for 20 minutes unable to fall back to sleep, I walked downstairs and finished my book. Then when that didn’t start to make me sleepy, I checked my e-mail and then facebook. That didn’t do the trick, either. So here I am. Spreading the good word to you.

Back to these Janet Evanovich books. I started reading them per a recommendation from my mother. Nevermind the first book came out in 1994. I was in 4th grade at that time and had no reason to read such books. However, now that I finally am in the loop, I’m hooked. There are currently 15 in the series (not counting the holiday side books she wrote) and I just finished book 5. I have only been reading them for about a week now, but of course, I’m so damn intense, that when I get hooked, I GET HOOKED. For example: I read the first book, then loved it so much that I went on ebay and bought 2-10 for 15 dollars. Then when it arrived in the mail, I nearly wet my pants and began reading. I would read during the kids’ naps and Dora and when Matt came home to relieve me of my motherly duties. I read those books like it was a Harry Potter book and I was my brother. (Or half of America. I’m just not into wizards.) I read a whole book in a day, then half of the new one. I couldn’t stop.

And so here I am. It’s now 5:01 and I finished number 5 and am contemplating starting “Hot Six.”

Oh who am I kidding. I’ll let you know how it turns out…

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on January 3, 2010, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ve never read a Janet Evanovich book, but I’ve heard such good things about them, I think I’m going to have to give one a try!

    • Cassie or Carly

      You HAVE to. They’re amazing. It’s the Stephanie Plum series that I’m reading. Hell, I can ship them off to you when I’m done if you’d like.

  2. Dude, you have “insomnia” as often as I do. I think you’re right, it’s because we think too damn much.

Leave a Reply

