I’m at an impasse

OK, so I’m pretty sure I have a problem with addiction. When I get hooked to something, I get HOOKED. In the past it has been The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz, Facebook, painting, exercising, shopping at Michaels… Now it’s Janet Evanovich and her saucy, saucy writing skills. I read the first one and instantly fell in love. It’s the kind of writing I enjoy. I feel as if it’s something I could totally write myself. I can’t read old school books like my sister. She loves Jane Eyre, anything by Jane Austin, and vampire books. Me? I love something that could be real but embellished. I also enjoy reading autobiographies, too, as long as it’s not about some old dead guy or president. However, I did enjoy reading Capone.

So my dilemma. I finished “To the Nines” last night and am currently staring down “Ten Big Ones,” but if I start to read it, here’s what will happen:

1.) I will neglect the children

2.) I won’t be productive in the least bit

3.) I will stay up until some ungodly hour reading it if I choose not to neglect the children and only read during nap times.

4.) I will hate myself in the morning because not only do I work, but I wouldn’t be able to read it until after I was done getting paid to do something.

5.) I don’t have 11-15 in my possession and then I’m without my addictive reading material.

I’m at an impasse.

–noun

1. a position or situation from which there is no escape; deadlock.
2. a road or way that has no outlet; cul-de-sac.

I have no escape. And I live in a cul-de-sac!

Maybe it would be better if I just finish it so that I can get on with my life. Once I’m done with 10, then I move into the withdrawal phase of addiction and I’ll be up all night shaking and rocking back and forth -dreaming about what crazy situation Stephanie Plum  is going to get herself into. Will she blow up another car? Will Ranger give up some of his secrets? Will Morelli still be hot?

It’s a good thing I don’t watch Soap Operas.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on January 7, 2010, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Of course, admitting you have a problem is the first step. Have you considered a methodone program. Something to bring you down gently. Perhaps some Sue Grafton or Jodi Picoult. But, good God, nothing with sequels. A bookmark with pictures of your kids–to remember who you are doing it for. One day at a time…

    But who am I to talk? Crap, “24” and “Lost” starts in a few weeks and I’ll be quivering in front of the TiVo with a box of suzy-q’s, a bag of fritos, a bottle of cabernet, and a bucketfull of self-loathing, wondering why the winter Olympics are keeping me from seeing what happened to Jack and Sawyer!

    • Cassie or Carly

      I’m a 24 nut as well. Matt and I have the whole evening mapped out, starting with a Wow Wow Wubbzy marathon in the play room so we can sit numb in front of the tv watching last years finale into the new season!

  2. Can’t wait for 24 to start back up, even if only to play the 24 Drinking Game.

    http://darwinfish2.blogspot.com/2009/09/24-drinking-game.html

    (Cassie, I know you’ve seen this but I don’t think Carpetbagger has)

    Am also looking forward to Lost, but it’s not the same kind of thrill-ride as the Jack Bauer Power Hour.

    • Cassie or Carly

      We’re so pathetic in this house. When it was during the Pens playoffs and such, we’d have to watch in on Hulu.com. Which was fine, but not quite the same. I was so damn torn!!!

    • Cassie or Carly

      And the drinking game IS ON.

    • I just realized the Olympics are on NBC. Since they have no decent shows, I’m golden.

      I like the 24 drinking game. I’d add a couple. “That’s not the right call!” and “within the hour”… as in “the bomb is supposed to go off within the hour”, meaning, of course, right at the end of the episode.

      Wow. I’m going to be drinking a lot this spring.

      • Cassie or Carly

        Also, don’t forget “jack bower, what is he doing there?” Good lord we’ll be hammered. What do we plan on drinking?

      • Jaeger if any kind of bomb is involved.

        Tequila if anyone from south of the border is involved.

        Straight whiskey for a straight up fist fight.

        Vodka, of course, if the Ruskies come around. (May I suggest Stoli Razberi)

      • Cassie or Carly

        OK, I’m hammered.

  3. It’s amazing and wonderful how books can take over our lives, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

