woah

My husband was sitting on the couch across from me this evening. We were talking about his day and then he stopped and said, “Did I ever tell you what Z*** told me last week at work?”

“No. You didn’t.” I responded.

“He came into our office all serious and started talking about when he was 9 or so he thought he had heard rain outside, but when he looked it wasn’t rain. He was hearing gun shots. Apparently he had to stay in his house for 2 or 3 days because there were so many bodies on the ground. Women, children…anyone who was out on the street. He said when he was finally allowed by his parents to go outside, his street was covered with flowers from where all the bodies had laid.”

Then he paused and said, “I didn’t know whether to believe him or not. I mean, that was heavy stuff. But I wouldn’t think he’d ever joke about something like this, so I wikipediaed it.”

Here’s what he’s talking about.

Now I’m sitting here feeling totally unsettled. This is what stuck out to me the most:

“According to Serge Sarkisian, long-time Defense Minister and Chairman of Security Council of Armenia who is the current president of Armenia, “A lot was exaggerated” in the casualties, and the fleeing Azerbaijanis had put up armed resistance. At the same time he stated: “Before Khojali, the Azerbaijanis thought that they were joking with us, they thought that the Armenians were people who could not raise their hand against the civilian population. We were able to break that [stereotype]. And that’s what happened.”

Wow. So I guess [the Armenians] proved me wrong. They weren’t joking. Those women, children, men…maybe they had put up armed resistance, and I am by no means an expert, but what 4 year old would be shooting? What woman would be doing this as well? On a street where they live and were supposed to feel safe?

My heart aches to know that Z*** had to see that at such a young age. He lived a full life before he was a teenager. How sad.

I’m glad to know, though, that he is raising his kids to be well respecting individuals who would never harm another person. He is a good man and I’m so glad he told Matt his story so that I can send it on to you.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on January 27, 2010, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This is a very interesting post, Cassie. As you may or may not know, Glendale has the second largest population of Armenians outside of Armenia, so I know LOTS of Armenian people. They always remember the massacre that took place in Turkey on April 24th during WWI, they call it the Armenian Genocide. It’s sad to me that the Armenian people would forget this and perpetrate such a heinous crime upon the people of Azerbaijan. I will have to ask some of my friends if they know about this.

  2. Oops, I meant the largest population of Armenians outside of Armenia.

  3. Kind of makes our day to day problems seem kind of trivial, huh?

    “OK, I may have just got cut off in traffic, but at least no one killed every living soul in my neighborhood…”

  4. Oh, what a horrible childhood memory.

    On the other hand, it is JUST LIKE a man to forget to tell you this story until a week later. Geez.

Leave a Reply

