a new book

So in absence of my Janet Evanovich novels, my step-dad gave me several mystery/thriller books to enjoy. I started with Karin Slaughter’s Blindsighted. It wasn’t bad. I’m not sure if it was the fact that I am partial towards writing in the first person sense or the fact that it had multiple stories going on that made it slow for me to get into, however, once I did, it was good. It’s quite a difference going from quirky-thriller to blood-and-guts-thriller.

I used to be a huge fan of Lawrence Block and his Matthew Scudder mysteries. A favorite being, The Devil Knows You’re Dead. However, I think too much seriousness was beginning to take it’s toll and I switched gears to funny autobiographies and fluff books like Baby Proof by Emily Griffin. I think those books are good for the soul, you know? Like a trashy romance novel.

Lately, Claire has been hooked on Suess. She requests Hop on Pop or The Cat in the Hat pretty much every night. I recently reintroduced Baily Goes Camping by Kevin Henke and I even read from my original copy from when I was 3. It includes some drawings by yours truly. Claire will say, “Mama, you drew that? I like the nose and eyes.” That’s a pretty huge compliment coming from Claire, master artiste.

Speaking of drawings, Carly drew in Mom’s first wedding album with crayon. Nothing like a memory of a lifetime. And there’s that red crayon…

Anyways, back to books. I do enjoy to read. It’s a guilty pleasure. In March the 4th installment of The Spellman Files will be out and I am super looking forward to that. In high school I wouldn’t have been caught dead reading for pleasure. At least not in the later years. Who woulda thunk it?

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on January 28, 2010, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Carl Hiaasen. Carl Hiaasen….good stuff…..

    So is Dr. Seuss. Just don’t tell Claire that I skip a page or three when I read her books when she’s going down for a nap, OK?

  2. I’ve been reading Altar of Eden by James Rollins. It has been a while since I’ve read a truly escapist piece of fiction. Not bad as a page-turner. I like that it’s based in the New Orleans bayou. Wish the characters were a little deeper, but Rollins (also a veterinarian) uses a lot of scientific, genetic, and zoological background in the story. It’s not chick-lit, but the main character is a woman. It’s not all crashes and explosions. I’m only half way through it, though.

  3. Laynie’s favorite book when she was 3 was Tumble Bumble (http://dsc.discovery.com/fansites/manvswild/manvswild.html) Mine too. It has a great rhythm to it, like Dr. Seuss, my all time favorite. We read it so often, that after a few months, her and I could recite it without the book. We’re big Seuss fans – Green Eggs and Ham being #1. Laynie loves a good Horton story. And these 2 collections have lots to choose from: http://www.amazon.com/Yertle-Turtle-Other-Stories-Seuss/dp/0394800877/ref=sr_1_23?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264878035&sr=1-23 and http://www.amazon.com/Hatful-Seuss-Five-Favorite-Stories/dp/0679883886/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264878035&sr=1-16

    As for you, I don’t know that we have the same tastes, but I received this book http://www.amazon.com/Idiot-Girls-Action-Adventure-Club-Magnificent/dp/0375760911/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264878186&sr=1-1 for Christmas in a gift exchange and it was truly entertaining. She has a lot of books – I’m planning to pick up a few more. Want to borrow this one?

  4. Oops the first link was wrong. Here is the real one http://www.amazon.com/Tumble-Bumble-Felicia-Bond/dp/0064435857/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264878279&sr=1-1

    (for explanation, my nephew, now 6, is totally a Bear Grylls in the making and I was passing this belief on to my sister-in-law, who totally agrees)

  5. So Mom and Daughter have great taste in books!

Leave a Reply

