My Japanese Steakhouse Experience

About a year ago, Ben and I had our first date (followed by about 7 months of just being “friends”) at the Japanese steakhouse in Pittsburgh. It was my first time seated in front of a Hibachi grill and I loved it. How fun to watch Japanese chefs named “Tommy” and “Joe” balance an egg on a spatula and light fires in the onion volcano! But, the best part of eating at the Japanese steakhouse? You never know who you’re going to experience it with. Unless you go out to eat with a group of six or more, you’re always seated at a table with others. Ben and I have been seated by parents with small children who cried hysterically when “Tommy” engulfed the grill in flames and we’ve been seated by redneck couples who drank copious amounts of Bud Light and were completely uninterested in the meal being prepared in front of them. Tonight, however, took the cake. Tonight we were seated by two different families out celebrating “mom’s” birthday. The first family was a nice average family with kids who decided to take mom out to celebrate. The second family was made up of two teenage sons and a divorced middle-aged frumpy mother. Now, I don’t like eavesdropping, but I was sitting right next to them, so I couldn’t help myself. This poor mother was completely ignored by her sons, who did nothing but talk to each other throughout the whole dinner. Every once in a while she’d try to make conversation, but was generally unsuccessful. Now, the steakhouse does this embarrassing disco-ball and ice cream thing for birthdays, complete with a pre-recorded version of the Happy Birthday song, sung in English by Japanese men with thick accents, all for the bargain price of $8. This poor mother had to request this embarrassing service for herself. Shouldn’t this be the job of her SONS who took HER out? I mean, I’d jump at the chance to embarrass the crap out of my mother in public! To top it all off, the mother ended up paying for the whole meal without a single offer from her boys. God help me if I ever have such rotten children.

On a side note, I want to go to the Japanese steakhouse for MY birthday next month and get the embarrassing disco-ball treatment! Cassie, can you get a babysitter and get Matt to come with Ben and I???? I’ll give you a 10% off coupon. Please?

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on February 23, 2010, in Carly, People Watching. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Consider it done.

    -Cassie

    • You can come, too. I just didn’t think you’d want to:
      A. Eat anything at the steak house
      B. Drive all the way to Cranberry for dinner.

      But of course I’d want you and Larry there!

  2. Those two boys sound like the poster children for birth control.

Leave a Reply

