I was an artist once

Today was craft day at the Conti’s. We made gifts for my in law’s anniversary, my sister in law’s new house and AUNTIE CARLY! So I can’t speak more of that.

My Grandma in Minnesota sent us some old paint swatches in the mail. She thought I could do something crafty with them and involve Claire, too. I thought about it for a few days and this is what I came up with:

We used those paint swatches and glued them to an old cork board and then after sealing them on she painted the heck out of it. I painted the wood border, but other than that, this is all Claire. She loves to paint, and I love to show her how.

I use sounds to describe the movement a brush should make and so she mimics me saying, “Swooosh, swoosh, dab, dab, dab!” But as silly as I sound, she gets it and she likes it. So I’d say that my job is pretty easy.

I love art. When I was in high school, I guess you could say I was OK at it. When I was in 11th grade, I got dumped by my long time boyfriend. He went to college and I started to get distant, and well, you know how it goes. Any who, it really broke my heart so I came up with this as a remedy:

I had two people from my art class model and I took photos and then I drew it and shaded it. Shading was my forte. I couldn’t paint, I couldn’t use pastel, I couldn’t stipple. I guess you could say that anything involving color I pretty much couldn’t do. Except with printmaking. I could make a sweet t-shirt. I still wear my Jason Mraz one with pride!

In 8th grade I made my first shading:

In 9th grade, I entered it in the Autumn Leaf Festival (google it, it’s huge out here) Clarion County Art Show for high school students. I didn’t go to the award ceremony, I just figured I’d get an honorable mention or nothing at all. When I went to the library to see it on display, it sported a 3rd place award. I couldn’t believe it. I ran home and dragged my Mom there to see it. I still couldn’t believe it.

At school the following Monday, my art teacher said, “Congrats, but don’t expect it to happen again.”

Every year after that I’d enter a project and I got honorable mentions, but didn’t place. My senior year I entered the hands project (see above) and it won first place. This time, my art teacher didn’t even congratulate me. Nice. (Personally, I think he was bitter that I chose to join the Army instead of going to Governor’s School for the Arts during the summer after he pushed and pushed for my acceptance.)

So when I am having a bad day at work, I say to myself, You could have easily gone to art school, instead you chose this. Suck it up!

I’m so proud when I see how much Claire loves art and even though it may look like scribbles and dabs here and there, it’s art to me. And it’s beautiful.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 1, 2010, in Cassie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You were an artist ONCE?

    Uh, no, ma’am. You are an artist STILL.

  2. That “Hands” drawing is beautiful! Excellent, excellent job. Great idea, great execution. No wonder you took first place. And screw that sour-puss teacher! Jealous prick…

    I always wished I could draw… I tried to be a cartoonist but it never took. (OK, I was in Jr. High) I was about as good drawing as I was playing guitar.

    You’re like an onion, you are… Every posting peels back another layer.

  3. I can’t wait to see my artwork creation from Miss Claire! She’s quite a talent. 🙂

  4. I’m jealous. I can’t draw a straight line with a mechanical pencil and a ruler.

Leave a Reply

