feeling like a vampire?

I woke up this morning confused. There was something going on outside, but I had no idea what it was about. So I came downstairs and promptly googled it.

sun

[suhn]  Show IPA ,noun, verb,sunned, sun·ning.

1. (often initial capital letter) the star that is the central body of the solar system, around which the planets revolve and from which they receive light and heat: its mean distance from the earth is about 93 million miles (150 million km), its diameter about 864,000 miles (1.4 million km), and its mass about 330,000 times that of the earth; its period of surface rotation is about 26 days at its equator but longer at higher latitudes.

2. the sun considered with reference to its position in the sky, its visibility, the season of the year, the time at which or the place where it is seen, etc.
3. a self-luminous heavenly body; star.

4. sunshine; the heat and light from the sun: to be exposed to the sun.

Oooooh. That’s what that is. It’s the SUN. Sunshine. A self-luminous heavenly body.

About damn time.

In other news, I set a goal. I’m not a goal setter, usually I fly by the seat of my pants, never one to plan. However, my goal is to do 3 5K’s this summer and ending it with Pittsburgh’s Great Race. I’ve never really set an ambitious goal like that since my summer of hell…er, I mean Basic Training, so this is kind of foreign territory for me. I’m really excited though!

I can run a 5K no problem. 3.1 miles is nothing. 6.2 on the other hand…I haven’t done that since I was 17. So in a word, I’m nervous. I’m trying to shave as much time off of my 5K as possible, too. Yesterday, on the treadmill, I took it slow and completed it in 30 minutes flat. Not bad for the first time running 3 miles since before Claire was born. I’ve been doing 2 miles and that’s it.

My ultimate goal is to do the Clarion County River Run half marathon. I used to help my dad with it, since he was one of the organizers. I was always jealous, watching these people run like it’s nothing. Not to mention it’s a beautiful run. I actually wrote an article about it when I was in high school. Rather, I wrote it, and my Mom cleaned it up. So I guess you should say my Mom wrote it…Here it is!

So. Now you guys know. I set a goal. Now don’t spread it around. I don’t want people to get the wrong idea about me…

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 4, 2010, in Cassie, working out and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Runners always look so unhappy.

  2. I’m with you on the sun thing – we’ve had two straight days of it here in Shreveport, and I hardly know what to do with myself.

    I was SO good about running last year, and somehow, I just fell out of the habit this fall. So as of April 1, I’m starting up again. Any and all advice would be MOST appreciated.

    • Cassie or Carly

      I used to be a running fool. Then I had kids… I have been running since Luca was about 6 weeks old though, so it’s not like it’s foreign territory or anything. I was always a huge fan of the ‘couch potato to 5k’ running program. I’d totally check that out if you’re wanting to start smart. Best not to get an injury! http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

  3. I think my skin is tranluscent. I’m make the guy from Twilight look like Snooki.

Leave a Reply

