auntie! it’s your birfday!

So 27, huh? You’re 27 today. I knew that today was coming for a while now since Claire has been decorating the house for a solid week. She says she’s having a ‘party’ and invited her ‘friends’ and the ‘party’ consists of her camera, letter tracer, orange ribbon, and stethoscope…all while being attached to her slide. If that’s not a party, then I don’t want to know what is.

She was working on her present to Auntie and while working on it said, “Auntie’s gonna LOVE this!”

And she will.

Since I’ve been alive, there’s only been one person I could count on to be my friend. Carly and I have this unwritten rule that it’s blood before blondes, even if it’s only half-blood. That’s never stopped us. We’ve been best friends as long as I can remember. I mean, how can you not be best friends with her?

She’s kind, considerate, listens to me bitch about absolutely nothing, watches my kids for free, eats my cooking, says my cookies are the best, doesn’t complain that her bedroom here is a complete mess, puts up with my husband and best of all, pets the dog.

(Random fact: we once made out with the same guy in the same night, and didn’t find out until almost a week later. Sluts!)

When I was pregnant, with Claire, even though we didn’t find out what we were having, I knew she was a girl. I made Matt promise that if the baby was a girl that we’d have her middle name be Rae (Carly’s middle name. We added the Lyn part later.) So when Carly came into the room after Claire was born and I told her what her name was, Claire Raelyn, she was awestruck. But in my mind, it’s the least I could do.

When I was in labor with Luca, Mom was going to watch Claire, and even before that, I had insisted that Carly be there in the room, holding my hand. To any normal person, seeing your sister in such a… well… position… and partially naked… well, it’d be weird. But not to Carly. She signed on board and was awesome the whole time. (The look on her face when Luca came out was SO cool. She’s not one to easily cry, but I swear I saw her tearing up. The only other thing to make her cry was Homeward Bound. My Girl didn’t even touch her….I KNOW! But she does have a soul.)

My sister. She’s the freaking best. I love her more than she’ll ever know, and not just because of all the things she’s done for me, but because of all the things she WILL do for me, and continue to do for me. She never stops. She is the most genuine person I’ve ever come to know. (Ben is one lucky man to have her.)

Happy 27th Birthday to my Sister from an AWESOME Mister (and mother!) I love you.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 11, 2010, in Carly, Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Happy Birthday Carly!

    The both of you are just awesome!

    Cassie, I hope having Carly with you while you gave birth didn’t scare the bejeebus out of her, or else you may never get to be an Auntie yourself.

  2. Thanks Cassie! You’re the bestest!
    And Bluz, her birth with Luca was so easy, if that’s all it takes, then I’ll make her an Auntie. But, if it had been long and horrible, then, well, sorry kids, no thank you!

  3. Okay, I had to go look at what happened 27 years ago… other than you, of course. Not much on March 11 other than Scott Hamilton winning some figure skating competition, but on Feb 28, 1983, the final episode of M*A*S*H aired. Happy Birthday. I’m old.

  4. Me too, buddy. I was skating through some elective “cake” courses my senior year in college, before graduating that May.

  5. Claire’s party sounds pretty rockin’ to me. Think she could plan my 33rd?

    Happy birthday, Carly!!

Leave a Reply

