the hangover

So it’s the day after the big huzzah. We had a great time. My cooking was top notch, the desert was, eh, but with it being my Grandma’s recipe (and she IS the alpha cook here) and my first time trying it out…you know, and the company was fab-u-lous!

Today I had a full day planned. What happened was a half-day.

I started the day off with giving blood with Ben. Nothing like starting the day off with a good deed!

Instead of my regular 8 hour shift at the hospital, I had a meeting at the LPN School of Nursing. I’m the ‘Community Representative’ which is just a fancy term that means I’m out there doing it and how can we relate it to what they teach. I feel super important – when I arrived, the secretary said, “I’m supposed to take you back to the meeting, follow me.” So important! Matt has always told me that it’s important to know people. And by people, he means important people. I had a meeting today with the woman who is in charge of both the St. Margaret School of Practical Nursing and Mercy’s RN School of Nursing. I’d say she’s pretty important. She’s also one of my favorite people in the whole world. Alexis is a smart, kind, no BS kind of chick and she is great at what she does. The fact that she trusts and welcomes my input is HUGE.

When that meeting was over I ran some errands. With the kids, it would have taken over an hour. By myself, it took 15 minutes. Score one for Mom.

I got home and I felt like I had hit a brick wall. My sister, being super awesome, said, “Take a nap, I’ll watch the kids.” If anyone other than a relative had said that to me, I would have messed my pants on the spot. Those are dangerous words. That’s better than having a massage and foreplay…and other stuff…combined!

2 1/2 hours later (take that boys!) I woke up from my nap foggy brained and refreshed. Score 20,000 for Carly.

Now Claire is eating her lip gloss and singing, “I so beau-ti-ful!” and Luca is doing things no normal baby should be doing, like climbing the slide and dancing. Onward goes my day…

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 12, 2010, in Cassie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I was just saying to Ben on the way home that I felt like I had a birthday hangover. So funny you titled your blog the same thing! I hope everyone is behaving!

  2. Carly, but now you’re just coming into your Birthday Weekend… Birthdays should not be a sprint, so much as a marathon. Keep the festivities going!

    • Cassie or Carly

      Don’t worry, Bluz. As we speak she is celebrating with friends. Then tomorrow, more celebrations and Sunday EVEN MORE CELEBRATIONS!

Leave a Reply

