The broccoli is british tonight (last night)

But don’t worry, we were watching Shawn the Sheep, so we had a bit of a British feel yesterday.

Ready for another random blog?

1. I love Trader Joe’s. Let me be perfectly clear when I say that. But, what the heck is wrong with their turkey? Why does it taste so…weird? I mean, ick. I just can’t do it. I’m sorry TJ, but your turkey tastes funky. Everything else is wonderful, but that turkey…

2. The new Spellman book came out today! Now, for the rest of you, I’m sure it just means *yawn* but for me…it’s EXCITING! Lisa Lutz is at it again, and I can’t wait to start reading it!

3. Luca is currently working on his “Man” status by having a record 10 poops today.

4. As my facebook status states:

Correct me if I’m wrong, but it seems a bit sacrilegious that the Devils are winning during Lent.

Anyone? Anyone?

5. I’ve successfully had both the kids every night to myself (minus last night and weekends) for 2 weeks now and haven’t wanted to hurt myself. Could it be I’m actually doing something right?

6. When you die your hair still grows for a couple of months.

7. Elephants are the only mammals that can’t jump.

8. The human heart creates enough pressure to squirt blood 30 feet. Must have sucked to have been the person who tested that theory.

9. Flying from London to New York by Concord, due to the time zones crossed, you can arrive 2 hours before you leave.

10.Long ago, if someone wanted to get rid of an unwanted person without killing them they used to burn their houses down — hence the expression “to get fired.”

11. I can palm a basketball. My husband used to tell his guy friends this when we were dating because apparently it’s a huge deal.

12. A pregnant goldfish is called a twit.

13. My first name is Cassandre. Not Cassandra. The jury is still out on that one.

14. Je voudrais aller a la salle des bains is how you say, “I would like to go to the bathroom” in french. It’s really all I remember.

15. The freaking Devils are still winning. Frick-frack.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 17, 2010, in Cassie, Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. In my defense, I was distracted last night. You know I usually make better broccoli. Also, you have freakishly long fingers and toes, and the Concord is no longer flying. Love, your mother. Or should it be love your mother? Oh the importance of punctuation.

  2. I’m totally jealous of the basketball palming thing. That’s the one thing that kept me from being able to dunk (when I was young and still had some bounce). I could dunk a volleyball though. But it sucked having to call time out and switch balls in the middle of a fast break.

    Speaking of the Concorde, back before you were born, there was a big day-long rock festival called “Live Aid,” held in both London and Philadelphia. (1984, I think) Phil Collins played early in London, then got on the Concorde, flew to Philly, then played late there, all on the same broadcast.

    • Cassie or Carly

      My husband dunks volleyballs and Claire’s Basketball. I’m not a good jumper. So you’ve got me on that.

  3. I thought it was poetic justice when a guy named Satan played for the Devils.

    Here are my weird trivia contributions:

    Mel Blanc (the voice of Bugs Bunny) was allergic to carrots.
    The band Duran Duran got their name from an astronaut in the 1968 Jane Fonda movie Barbarella.
    The glue on Israeli postage stamps is certified kosher.
    A pig’s orgasm lasts for 30 minutes. (Whose job is it to time them?)

    That’s all I got.

  4. Hi. You can palm a baksetball?!! It isn’t very fair that a girl can do this and I can’t! I am 6’1 and can barely palm girls ball. Are you talking about the girl-sized/kid basketball… or are you talking about the normal sized mens basketball? If you can palm them mens ball, how tall are you, and is there any trick to doing this?

    Thanks!

    Kevin

    • Cassie or Carly

      I’m 5’8″ but I have extremely long fingers and toes. It’s almost freakish. A guy who I work with is almost 7 feet tall and his fingers are shorter than mine. And yes, it is a man’s basketball. It can’t be a worn bball, though, because if it doesn’t have the gripper, then I can’t. Otherwise, yes, I can. I’m weird, I guess. The trick for me is to have dry hands. Sorry I can’t be of more help.

  5. (wishing I was a pig. . .)

    You can’t touch your nose with your elbow.

    And apparently, pooping really is the “man” thing to do. Louie gets all out of sorts if he doesn’t go at least once a day, much like his father. Me? I’m happy if I can go a week without being bothered by that chore. :o)

  6. This is totally random too, but…

    I love the spelling of your name!

    Funny how one letter makes all the difference.

  7. Sorry for the strange interest, but I just read about your basketball palming ability… which is amazing!!!! I was wondering, just long your hands are? You can check out my blog for an example… and yes, I am obsessed, lol.

    Also, if you ever want to post a picture (or video)…. I would absolutely love ya šŸ™‚

    Jessica

  8. You can actually palm a basketball! That is so cool! I have two questions for you:

    1) Men’s or Women’s size ball?

    2) How tall are you?

    Thanks and great blog.

  1. Pingback: OK, i’m a freak « Sisters From Different Misters

Leave a Reply

