OK, i’m a freak

No! Not that kind of a freak. Gosh! (Insert Napoleon Dynamite-ish voice)

My hands are HUGE. I’ve always known this, but then a girl named Jessica commented on the Random Facts blog telling me how to measure to see if I really DO have long hands. Welp, the verdict is in. According to the measurements, being 5’8″ I should have the hand span (from wrist to tip of middle finger) of 6.8 inches. My actual measurement? 7.5 inches. Don’t believe me? Here are some photos.

I use my lovely work ID as a reference guide. I didn’t have any dollar bills lying around.

That last photo makes my hand look stumpy, but that’s because it’s an awkward position to put your hand in at 9 in the morning. Or any time, really.

(Side note: You don’t even want to know about my toes. I can literally pick things up with them…I’d have a normal sized foot if it weren’t for those little freaks.)

And if it wasn’t raining and if the only basketball we have is 20 years old and is as smooth as a bowling ball, I’d show off my skills. For now, that’s all I’ve got.

Oh, and before you ask, the tattoo on my wrist says: always. It’s Norwegian. My right wrist says Erindre which translates to: remember.

Oh, oh! And I’m not wearing my wedding band because my finger has decided to rebel and for the past year or so I’ve been dealing with a red, irritated ring finger. I blame it on the soap and hand foam sanitizer at work. This whole debacle began when they upped the alcohol content and I ended up with a chemical burn. No joke. I’ve been putting up with this since Luca was in my belly and I’ve about had enough. I want to wear my wedding band again. (Plus I’m getting tired of hearing Matt say, “So…how do people know we’re married?” or “Where’d your sign of love and respect go?” What a nerd.)

*Quick update*

I’m adding a few new photos showing my hands since I got a few emails asking me to do so. I’m nothing if not accommodating. Ha!

This photo makes me laugh. It was a part of our Mom’s Mother’s Day gift. We go balls to the wall for her gifts.

Really, we’re OK. We just like to have some fun for our Mom, OK?

I’ll have you know it’s no easy task measuring this on my own. I couldn’t find a cloth measure tape, so I had to use the giant bulky one. Sheesh! I hope this is the proof everyone was looking for.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on March 22, 2010, in Cassie, Norwegian. Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. WOW!!!! 7 1/2 inches!

    Thanks so much, those definitely are some VERY big hands… and quite beautiful. And believe me, I know hands, lol.

    Your fingers are soooo long! You could be a hand model 🙂

    If you ever get a chance, please post a picture of you palming or your hand with a ruler.

  2. O.M.G.

    If those things were webbed, you could totally kick Michael Phelps’ butt.

    The tat? I thought they misspelled “Altoid”, like you were some kind of mint junkie.

    How ’bout if you and Matt can swap rings like they do in high school. He can wear yours on a chain around his neck, and you can wrap a ton of yarn around his and wear it on one of those enormous digits.

    (If you were a guy, I bet the ladies would be lining up to meet you.)

    • Just like probably every other guy that reads your blog, I just measured my hand… 7.25 inches. And I’m 6’3″.

      I bet you were just hell on the monkey bars…

      • Cassie or Carly

        I think my Mom is really proud of the fact that I saved her a bundle on not taking guitar or piano lessons.

        There weren’t monkey bars that I couldn’t conquer.

    • Cassie or Carly

      Oh, and I DO like those mints. But not enough to advertise. However, if I got paid…

  3. That is crazy big! I am 6 foot even and male, and my hands are just under 7.25 inches and I think my hands are big for a guy…. maybe you just have really long fingers… oh, and I have never met a chick with bigger hands than myself, I think it would give me a complex.

  4. I bet you can type really fast, too.

    You would have been a wicked pianist.

  5. Thanks for sharing your beautiful and yes, very very big hands Cassie!!! You have really long beautiful palms by the way, I am sure I am the first person to ever say that to ya.

    One can only imagine the talents those hands must possess… like back massages of course.

    And you know what they say about women with big hands…………. they have wear big gloves.

    Randy

  6. Thanks for sharing your great hands! Hope you don’t mind if I ask a few questions? I was wondering what you favorite nail polish color is… I bet your hands look extraordinary when you have a french manicure. Also, if you get a chance, I was wondering how long your palms were from base to the start of your middle finger? You have really long pretty palms. MQ

  7. Cassie or Carly

    My palms are 4 inches and because of the nature of my work, I don’t get to wear nail polish. But I like lime green and bright blues.

  8. I am not impressed, there is no actual evidence to convince me your hand is 7.5 inches……….why not and be brave and actually use a ruler and do it the right way by measuring your whole hand where we can see what you say……………..nice try 🙂

  9. Oh my you have lovely hands! Your fingers are so long and slender. What is your ring size (ring finger)… If I had to guess I would say a 5 1/2, but they might be a little small considering the overall size of your hands.

    Your sister’s hands look quite a bit smaller than yours, is she much shorter than you… or would you just the lucky one to get the long hand gene? Do any of your other family members have similar type hands?

    Nate, you are a loser, she doesn’t have to “prove” a thing! But I am happy to see more pics!

    Just so you know, I am sure people are going to start to say prove that you can palm a basketball as well… just by looking at your hands, I can tell you have basketball palming hands… you don’t have to prove it to me.

    You are so sweet to share your hands here.

    • Cassie or Carly

      Um, I wear a 5 1/2 or 5 3/4. Depends, I guess. My sister is only 1 1/2 inches shorter than me. That photo doesn’t do her justice.

    • Hey I love your compliments about me so far! Great to see the challenges you all seem to not be able to back up, when you do 200+ hand compare pictures videos, then maybe I give you some validation to your amateur fire backs :()

    • WOW! I like these big female hands!

  10. One more thing..

    And no worries if you don’t get to it, but I was wondering how long your hands were from the tip of your pink to the tip of your thumb stretched out? I am sure they are a good 8 inches!

  11. Thank you for posting your hand measure

    I did count the slashes on the ruler, you have 3 of them on the top where you gave yourself a head start with the middle finger tip and the bottom you have two slashes gap of your hands on the ruler. Unless you did not use your dominate hand to measure the biggest side hand. I would gave your hand a total of 7 inches & qtr (7.25 inches max) which is around 18.5cm) still not bad and is .25 over average female hand length.

  12. Absolutely 7 1/2!

    Please try and ignore the complainers… they are just jealous 🙂

    Too bad you can’t wear nail polish for work… I bet your hands are stunning in a bright blue!

    By the way Nate, seven inches is certainly not average for a woman.

  13. I would completely love if you would do a video or picture of yourself palming a basketball! Those hands of yours are stunning!!!! I really have never seen such big pretty hands ever… those palms are never ending.. Thank you sooooo much for sharing them!!!

  14. Whoops. Sorry I missed this post, I posted on another of your blog entries about your height and size of basketballs. (not sure if you will see this since it is such an old entry) That is amazing that your hands are that big. They are completely gorgeous by the way!!!

    Hope to see more pictures from you!

  15. You do have huge hands, take it from a girl who “thought” she had the biggest hands. Although you are two inches taller so it isn’t a fair comparison 🙂

    I realize that this is a really old post, sorry. I just happened to find it because I also have a thing for big hands, I know it must sound strange to ya.

    If you ever feel generous, I would love to see some more pictures of those incredible hands!

  16. What lovely big hands you have. Such long fingers and palms!

    Would you mind if I posted a pic of your hand on my site? Also, if you ever feel the need to prove that basketball palming skill of yours, I certainly wouldn’t mind seeing it!!!!

  17. Can I ask how long is your middle finger? You have beautiful hands! I’m a 5 ft 8.5 male and my hands are also 7 1/2 inches but you probably have longer fingers.

  18. You shouldn’t feel that you’re hands are that big, I’m 5’5 and my hands are 8 inches. I also have freakish toes. I’m actually a swimmer and my coach loves how big my hands are, calls them paddles all the time. And my hands are even slightly bigger than my dads-__- it’s awkward.

  19. Molybdenum Studios Founder and CEO

    LmAO I am quite short yet I have 7″ hands (which is a curse) since my hands should only be 6.2″. I do not consider myself gifted at all. It’s actually in the bone structure, and I think smaller hands should suit me better.

  20. Iam aguy with tiny hands 7.25 with palm length 4.3 inches wich is so small

Leave a Reply

