April, you didn’t fool me, day.

“HEAR DAT, DADDY?” That’s what I’m hearing right now. As we speak a helicopter is flying over head and Claire is more than just a little excited. The sun is setting and the birds are chirping. I am listening to a nice Classical station, fresh out of the shower and feelin’ fine.

Today could be chalked up to one of the most perfect days ever. When Luca woke up from his nap this morning, we headed out to Oakmont. For me, it’s just 15 minutes across the bridge. It’s a lovely little town and it almost reminds me of Clarion, in that it is nice, quaint, and has a great restaurant right on the main street. (Shout out to the County Seat. You’ll always be my favorite!)

When we got there, our first stop was What’s Cooking at Casey’s. I had gone there for the first time last week and it was delish. The kids liked it, too, and since it was a small town-type restaurant it was perfect for me to man the kids alone. After filling up on cheese tortellini (both me and the little dude) and Claire with her grilled cheese, we were off to Today’s Market right next door. It was my first time going there, but it surely won’t be my last. I finally found an organic multivitamin for Claire that she’ll actually take. She says they’re better than her “Fint-ones.” (Plus, those little bastards sneak red #40 and a whole bunch of chemicals in it. No thanks!) Plus they had pumpkin! And if you’re into that stuff, you’ll know that there’s been a shortage. But I found it. And for only 2 dollars a can 🙂

After that fun trip, we walked down the street and across the train tracks to Oakmont Bakery. If you’re not from around here, that place is the equivalent of heaven. It was started by a guy who was only in his 20’s at the time, with not a dime to his name, but had a recipe for amazing pastries and cakes. That place has since skyrocketed. You have to take a number and wait forever, but it’s worth it. When we got to the checkout line to pay for her lone pink frosted cookie, Claire was armed with her dollar and handed it to the attendant. The lady behind the register said, “Oh no, sweetie, kids get free cookies.”

Wha? I had no clue! Since when? Forever, apparently. I’m in love.

So Claire put her dollar back in my bag and said, “I love my cookie with pink frost-eeg. (her nose was plugged) Thank you, thank you, thank you!”

After both the kids napped, we headed off to the gym where I got an amazing workout and both the kids were great for the daycare lady. Then I came home and made some sauce and baked rigatoni. We had not one freak-out and Claire even took the time to show Luca how to use a specific toy.

I’m waiting for it all to come crashing down, since it is in fact, April Fool’s Day. However, I feel as if this is my April Fool’s Day. A perfect day.

Love it.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on April 1, 2010, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Yay for days like that. They are truly magical!

  2. MMMMMm….rigatoni….

  3. Cassie or Carly

    Mmmm, pink cookie with frosting!

  4. Hurray for beautiful days!

Leave a Reply

