Happy Mother’s Day

To all you Mothers out there, to you, I say, “Happy Mother’s Day!” To all you men and childless women, I hope you treated your Mommy well.

Today was perfect. It started at 5:50 AM when I woke myself up before my alarm, excited for the day. Mother’s Day is my favorite holiday next to the 4th of July. Christmas is probably 3rd on the list.

It’s my favorite holiday for a few reasons. One, I love being a Mother, but I also love being recognized for being a Mother. It’s not an easy job. So it’s nice to be loved extra bunches. Secondly, I love home made gifts…especially when they’re from my kids or from Carly and I, making them for our Mom. Third, Matt cooks, cleans, doesn’t complain and says excuse me after he burps. 24 hours of sheer polite bliss.

At 6:40 AM, Ben (Carly’s Ben) and I were in his car, me driving, to Oakland for the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure 5K. I hadn’t done this race since 2003 and I never did it competitively. We parked at Soldiers and Sailors and walked to Flagstaff Hill. There was loud music, bumping bass, tons and tons of buses (to which Ben said, “Mmmm, nothing like some diesel fumes to make my lungs feel great,”) and people. It was cold, windy and cloudy. We walked around trying to find the tent for safety pins so we could put on our number bibs and I had a “In Celebration of” paper plaque to pin on as well. (It said, “In Celebration of my Godmother Teela.” She is currently fighting for her life, and hopefully winning the battle against breast cancer.) When we found the safety pins, we walked over the hill to where the start of the race was, and as we were walking, we passed a paper headstone field where families could place In Memory of plaques. It literally took my breath away. I’m not stupid. I’m a nurse. I know cancer kills. But to see…to be so close to the sadness…the memories…the broken hearts. I mean, you could just feel it. And while I was looking over in sadness, I notice to my left a woman wearing a pink survivor shirt and I felt so proud for her. Cancer doesn’t always win.

The race started, and my shoe came untied. I ran to the side, tied it, and caught back up to Ben. Then a half a mile in, my shoe came untied again. So again, I went and tied my shoe, then caught back up to Ben.

Like I had said before, it was cloudy, windy and cold. My muscles ached. I was going through a mental battle for sure. Finally, after we started climbing yet another hill, I looked up and saw mile marker 2. I thought to myself, C’mon Conti. Get your ass in gear. Teela had every single distinguishing woman characteristic taken from her because of cancer. All you’re doing is running 3 miles. Do it.

That’s when I really picked it up. I got to the top of the hill and there was a guy about my age who had started to walk. On his back he had: “In Memory of my MOM.” I patted him on the back and said, “C’mon. Do it for your Mom,” as I ran past. He looked at me and started to run again.

I finished at 28 minutes. 111th in my age category and 798th out of 2266 overall. Not too bad. Not too great. I’ll do better on next week’s 5K.

The rest of my Mother’s Day was great. Matt was supposed to fly out to Montreal today, but because of the wind advisories throughout the North East, his flight was cancelled. He’ll fly out tomorrow morning at 7. (Don’t worry, he’ll still get to the game!) Matt cooked dinner, vacuumed the entire house, cleaned the BATHROOM (unheard of!) and went to Trader Joe’s with me and didn’t even complain ONCE! (Note: he’s not a complainer, except when it comes to Trader Joe’s. He says it’s too small and too crowded. He’s used to Giant Eagle. I’ll let it slide.)

I got a beautiful emerald necklace (Luca’s birthstone) and an awesome homemade card and a potted flower.

I love my kids. But most of all I love my husband because he made me a Mother. He also works super duper hard so I can enjoy being a mother and stay home with the kids 90% of the time. But this isn’t Father’s Day yet. So I’m going to enjoy being spoiled!

To all the Mothers out there: I hope you had an amazing day.

To all the cancer survivors out there: I applaud you and your amazingness. You are by far some of the most resilient people in the world.

To all the kids: be good to your Moms. They brought you into this world, and they sure as hell can take you out. Not to mention they went through hours of excruciating labor and countless nights without sleep. You owe it to them.

Ben and I before the race started. My cell phone takes OK photos, huh?

My step dad Larry, Me, Mom and Carly. Mom titled this photo “The family that Youtubes together, stays together.”

Happy Mother’s Day!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on May 9, 2010, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Your best writing yet. *tear* No…no tear…I’m bawling. Happy Mother’s Day, my darling, darling daughter.

  2. Happy Mother’s Day to one of the coolest moms around!

  3. Well, Happy (Belated) Mother’s Day to you! Sounds like you had a wonderful day. I think my wife would say the same. In general it’s a pretty sweet holiday.

    Cancer is sad. Getting sick is sad. But you’re doing a good thing, getting out there and running for the cause. And frankly, I wouldn’t want to race you. You tied your shoe twice and still caught back up to Ben???
    Pretty impressive showing.

    Have a good day. Nice pictures by the way.

    • Cassie or Carly

      That’s very true. I guess I AM doing something, right? I’m really not that fast, and Ben used to be a cross country runner, but grad school and beer got in the way. He’ll kick my ass by the end of the summer I’m sure.

  4. So sweet and inspiring! Happy Mothers Day!

  5. Well done, dear one. Glad you had a good (and productive) Mother’s Day.

    And wow… that’s a lot of hotness for one picture…

Leave a Reply

