why can’t anything be simple? a post about how i loathe apple…

Note: this is completely my (Cassie’s) opinion. I’m sure there are people out there who can’t live with out their Apple/Mac products, however, this chick here…can. I’m typically up to a healthy debate, but not now. I’m too fired up to be constructive… And was much more stress-free before ipods came into my life.

For Christmas, Matt bought me an ipod shuffle (3rd generation for all intensive purposes.) It’s cute, pink, small and plays music. To the naked eye, it seems perfect. WRONG.

First mistake: the charger is about 3 inches long. I did a pretty decent job of keeping it away from the kids for a while. However, about a month ago, it went missing. Now my ipod chugged along on whatever it was charged up to until then. 5 days a week going to the gym x 1 hour each session = awesome battery life. I was impressed. But tomorrow I have a 5K. I wanted to listen to my ipod while I run. Sounds normal enough, right? So we drove to Best Buy to get a charger for it. Innocent. I bought an ipod Shuffle charger and some ridiculously expensive headphones. (Because Shuffles don’t have a screen, you have to use a remote on the headphone to change the song. The headphones that come in the original packaging fall out of my ears and hurt. I wanted ones that are comfy. So sue me.) (OH! And my headphones shock me while I’m running. Nothing like an electric current to put some pep in my step!)

We got home and I plugged in my ipod. Nothing happened. I check the box:

This charger is compatible with 2nd generation ipod Shuffle.

WTF? I thought a Shuffle was a Shuffle. Sigh. So I look at the headphones (that the Best Buy guys assured me would work for my Shuffle.) Nope. Strike two.

Back to Best Buy. There was a new tech in the ipod section. First thing he said: “I hate Apples.” Then he goes on to say, “They do it on purpose so you have to buy their products. We don’t carry the charger or the headphones you’ll need. You should probably order them online. Sorry.”

At this point there is a small amount of smoke coming from out of my ears. 3rd generation this, 2nd generation that. Who gives a flying fuck? (Sorry for the profanity. I’m just angry.)

While I’m talking to the Best Buy guy, who was awesome by the way, he starts to tell me I should just put a few songs on my phone until the charger I order online comes. He was holding my phone when it started to vibrate. A pix/text message from Carly:

Yes. That’s Ben. And he’s wearing a Hello Kitty tee. I laughed so hard I almost peed my pants. So did the Best Buy guy. It was pretty funny.

Talk about perfect timing. Here I was, in the middle of Best Buy ready to snap in half and swear like a sailor about how much I hate Apple products and divine intervention happened…Ben’s ridiculousness saved me from looking like a complete tool.

I came home, again, went online to Amazon and ordered a charger for 2 dollars, new headphones for 10 dollars (they’re the actual ear buds and were on super sale) and a Shuffle remote compatible device that got 4 out of 5 stars for 10 dollars.

Here’s more math guys: 22 dollars + free shipping = AWESOME.

49.95 + a 10 dollar gift card + stupid ridiciulous Apple products that aren’t compatible = annoyingly expensive.

I still love my Shuffle. But only because Matt bought it for me. If it was a product I had purchased on my own, I would have thrown it out the window. Or traded it in.

Last gripe: itunes. I can’t take ANY of the songs I have on itunes and put them on my old school Sansa mp3 player. My Sansa has never let me down. It was 12 dollars and worth every penny. Sure it takes AAA batteries and is kind of bulky. But I love it, because it’s easy, reliable and isn’t 30th generation annoying.

Hello. My name is Cassie and I’m a PC.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on May 15, 2010, in Cassie, what annoys me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I won’t challenge you on the Apple accessory thing, it is a pain in the ass, but you need to do your research, dear Cassie. First of all, you don’t go to Best Buy for Apple stuff. Number one, they don’t know the products well enough and two, they will charge you too much money. You need to go the Apple Store OR…

    I have a great resource for you for any kind of computer or A/V stuff you and Matt need to buy in the future. It’s called monoprice.com. NEVER EVER buy a cable for anything at Best Buy again, you promise me that. They are a complete rip off. You can find stuff for Apples, PCs, your DVD players, TVs, etc. etc. at Monoprice. It’s the only way to go. Monoprice usually has what you’re looking for and is infinitely cheaper, pennies on the dollar.

    Hi, I’m Emily and I’ve never had a computer go down because of f’ing virus or any other infinitely stupid Windows-related reason because I am a MAC! 4-Ever and Ever, AMEN!

    • Cassie or Carly

      The ONLY reason we went to Best Buy (because I, too, think they’re a rip off) was because they have this great recycling program where you drop off your item, pay 10 dollars and then they give you a 10 dollar gift card. I have nothing to buy there, but thought they could be helpful.

      And yes, I know all things according to you Mac is great because of your history with it. And that’s fine, but I, don’t have a fine history with it, so I’m going to stick with my PCs.

  2. I love all my Mac products…EXCEPT, the pink Shuffle Kevin bought me for Valentine’s Day. Cute, yes… but otherwise, annoying as heck! The shuffle feature only worked for the first few weeks. Now, my Shuffle, doesn’t shuffle at all. The ear phones stop working when they get sweaty… which is a complete and total design flub for a product that is marketed specifically for working out/ running. The shipping/handling fee was somewhere around $30, if I should choose to return my $50 Shuffle to be fixed or replaced… under warranty. So, I listen to my play list straight through and pray my earphones don’t cut out through every workout. Our household currently owns 3 Macbooks, 2 ipod Touch(es?), and 2 ipod Nanos. We love them all… But the Shuffle? The shuffle makes me want to cuss on a regular basis. -ANd I’ve read enough online reviews to know that the problems I have with my Shuffle are quite common. Two thumbs down for the shuffle! Good thing it’s cute and was a gift from my hubby… or I’d have run over it with my car by now.

    • Cassie or Carly

      They’re just so terribly expensive and I really have never been able to get into it. I love my shuffle for being an MP3 player and that it works, it’s just the charger….the headphones…

      I just can’t get into apple no matter how I tried in the past. But I’m glad you guys have such a good relationship 🙂

  3. Cassie, this is yet another issue on which we are in complete agreement.

    When I was first in the market for a portable music player, I avoided the iPods because I didn’t want to get trapped inside the concentric circles of Apple Hell. I prize options, in all things.

    I got an MP3 player from Creative Labs, 30 gigs of capacity. I’ve had it for about 3 years, I think, and it’s never given me a moment’s trouble. I have over 3000 files on it and it’s only about half full. It gets heavy duty every day… I use it on the subway, to and from work. Then at work, I plug it into portable speakers for music throughout the day. I either download music from Amazon or WalMart.com, or rip it myself from my CDs. And now I have one of those turntable units that plugs into a USB port, so I can rip tracks from my old albums. (Many were never made on CDs, because they were flops, but might have had a cool song or two.)

    • Cassie or Carly

      Yes. Options are wonderful, are they not?

      I just could never get into it. We used several Macs when I was in high school in Art. I really got frustrated often. To each is own or whatever the phrase is…

  4. I was Applized two years ago.bFirst the Ipod… then a desktop… then a little silver shuffle (awesome, industructible, always works for me), and finally the iPhone. Boy, when I drank the Kool Aid, I really guzzled it down. I understand your hesitancy and opposition, but I’ve never expereienced products that were as well-designed (except for the earbuds… I agree that they hurt and fall out, but you can get others) and are intelligent when you plug them in to other Apple products.

    But I also laughed because this really is the definition of “rich people problems.” Folks in the third world have lots of problems, but this is not one of them.

    • Cassie or Carly

      Word. It IS a rich person problem. But I’m not rich…but not living in 3rd world status. You really brought perspective. Thanks 🙂

  5. We sing the same song, my friend.

Leave a Reply

