I am not an endurance runner

…but why do I love it so?

Today marked my 3rd 5K of the season. It was a first for Matt. It was such a great run, however, at about 1 1/2 miles I landed funny on my right leg sending my once previously broken hip into rebellion. Matt looked at me about a half mile later and asked me if I was OK because I started to breathe all funny. I told him that when I stepped in the pothole it did a number on my hip. He understood and ran with me the whole way. I don’t know if he would have beat me, though. He tends to get over-excited, sprint, and then have to walk…

We finished in 26:32. I can’t say I’m too excited about that number since my previous race was super hilly and I did that in 28…and the first one I did, I got a time of 26:02 or something. Oh well. I’m still proud of myself regardless. I had a great time with Matt. I lost to my boss, Jay, by 45 seconds. He surprisingly didn’t gloat that much. Good man.

However, I did place 2nd in my age group. I don’t know how many women there were… but I’ll take it. Matt placed 2nd in his age group as well. Woo woo!

So…there you go. Meh. But yay!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on May 16, 2010, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Was it that same f’in pothole I drove into today on Freeport Rd? Urgh.

  2. Here’s your line to Jay:
    “Yeah, congratulations, you beat a girl with a broken hip.”

    • Cassie or Carly

      Well, I broke the hip 8 years ago…it’s an old excuse. And Jay won fair and square. Don’t worry, we’ll have a rematch.

  3. 26:32? To me, that’s, like, LIGHTNING SPEED!

  4. Pittsburgh? Has pot holes? Color me shocked!

    I’m just starting to pound the pavement. (And at my weight, I mean POUND the pavement. I may be creating a few more pot holes.) Lots of pain and misery right now, and my running is probably better described as shuffling, but in a year, I hope be able to actually run 5k without wheezing. It’s a dream.

    • Cassie or Carly

      You can sodo it! If you want a super flat course to run next year, do the Riverview UPMC/Genesis run. It was so flat, so easy. You can do it! I’m SO excited for you! Oooh! I love 5k’s. They truly are my new sick addiction.

Leave a Reply

