addiction

I am such an addict. I have an addictive personality, if you will.

First example: I have 6 tattoos. 4 of which I LOVE. 2 I could totally do without. But they’re there and I can always get it removed some day or get it covered with a new one. I’ll probably do the latter.

See, it started with one. It’s a part of a Buddhist chant, praying for peace in the world. I got it shortly after I got home from the Army when I turned 18. Then I got Chinese lettering on my lower back (I know, I know…tramp stamp) that says “Patience, *Cat.” The third one I got on my hip when I was about to break up with my then boyfriend. I guess I needed a juju. At least that’s what I told myself. But at least I drew it by hand. (It’s a dragonfly and my only color one.) The fourth/fifth one says Erindre Alltid which is NOT the names of my kids, husband, boyfriend or dog. It translates to Remember Always in Norwegian. Gotta go with the heritage. Lastly, I have the symbol of Zen on my left inner ankle, meaning: Live life by the moment…which I most certainly do!

Point in case: addicted.

Second example: Piercings. I had a bunch. Here we go (in no particular order): My tongue (twice), ears, industrial (google industrial piercing…do it!), right nipple (why the right? I don’t know, I was drunk), nose (twice), belly button (top and bottom)… you get the point.

Point? Addicted.

Third example: 24. Can’t miss an episode. Matt and I talk about it when we should be falling asleep. I’m counting down minutes until it comes on (which by the way is 3. 3 minutes!) Matt and I toss a coin as to who will put Claire down. Only on Mondays and only because sometimes her books go long or she’s being a poop (such as tonight).

Addicted.

Fourth example: 5k’s.

I’ve already run 3 and it’s only MAY! It’s fun, but I hate them all at the same time. Only while I’m running them. I’m excited before, hate myself during, and am so super proud of myself at the end. I look up on active.com to see what’s coming up near me so I can sign up for the next one.

ADDICTED.

*Cat was a nickname that was given to me by a friend in high school. When I moved to Pittsburgh and was waitressing at the awesome TGI Fridays, it was so much easier to go by that. No one butchered Cat. I wasn’t called Cathy, Casey or CassandrA. It was AWESOME. Plus, when I was single, one of the bartenders used to purr and meow at me. Actually…he always did that, regardless of relationship status…

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on May 17, 2010, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. “Cat.” I like it.

    Just tell me the lower back tattoo doesn’t look like a cup holder…

    I can’t fathom tongue piercings. If I take even a little nip out of my tongue, while eating, I think I’m going to pass out from the pain. I know, I know, men are such weenies about pain, as compared to women. I admit it.

    Heck of a 24 episode so far. (I’m writing during a commercial.) Jack’s swiping of Logan was awesome. Oops… beep beep beep… gotta go…

    • Cassie or Carly

      Holy hell, did you see that? He’s stabbed…AGAIN!

      • Yeah! He must have been thinking, “What? AGAIN??”

        I loved how they flashed over to the Russian office and there’s all this freakin’ carnage… and the Foreign Minister with a freakin’ POKER sticking out of his chest.

        See, ya don’t stab Jack… it just pisses him off.

    • Cassie or Carly

      I know! And seriously, if Jack was hunting me down, I’d tape my mouth shut and hide in the basement with a Depends on.

      OR I’d just stand in the middle of the street, cuz chances are he’ll find me regardless.

      Don’t you think Keifer should do SNL and totally do a skit for Depends since clearly he doesn’t pee at all in a 24 hour period?

  2. Recently heard a comedy skit poking fun of the chinese script tats… what it really means is “Lardass.”

    • Cassie or Carly

      HA! That’s hilarious! Lucky for me, I had a friend at the time who was studying chinese script and confirmed with his professor that what I wanted was in fact what it said. I’d hate for mine to say “Skank ho” or something.

  3. Well, there’s more damaging things to be addicted to… like Suzy Q’s or heroin or online poker or Sudoku. (Had a friend who lost his house on a nasty Sudoku binge. Haunting.)

    DVR’s 24 last night. Was too tired to enjoy it when I got home. But I DID find a Website that is counting and cataloging Jack’s onscreen kills: 266 thus far.

  4. Honestly, I can’t figure out why I’ve never been addicted to anything more harmful than cigarettes. I’m obsessive AND impulsive – a bad combination. I guess my saving grace is that I also have a healthy sense of self-preservation, which has kept me from getting into TOO much trouble.

Leave a Reply

