where is our morality?

Here’s today’s complaint: our moral code. Where did it go?

From Men’s Health: “Turns out, when certain plastics are heated at a high temperature, chemicals from the plastics may leach into container’s contents. So there’s been a flurry of speculation recently as to whether the amounts of these chemicals are actually harmful, and whether this is even a concern when it comes to water bottles-which aren’t likely to be placed in boiling water or even a microwave. While the jury is still out on realistic health ramifications, it seems that, yes, small amounts of chemicals from PET water bottles such as antimony-a semi-metal that’s thought to be toxic in large doses-can accumulate the longer bottled water is stored in a hot environment.”

It continues on to say:

“Our nation’s high demand for oil isn’t just due to long commutes. Most water bottles are composed of a plastic called polyethylene terepthalate (PET). Now, to make PET, you need crude oil. Specifically, 17 million barrels of oil are used in the production of PET water bottles ever year, estimate University of Louisville scientists. No wonder the per ounce cost of bottled water rivals that of gasoline. What’s more, 86 percent of 30 billion PET water bottles sold annually are tossed in the trash, instead of being recycled, according to data from the Container Recycling Institute. That’s a lot of waste—waste that will outlive you, your children, and your children’s children. You see, PET bottles take 400 to 1000 years to degrade. Which begs the question: If our current rate of consumption continues, where will we put all of this discarded plastic?”

Carly and I had a discussion last week about money and greed and the government. The saddest part about it all was that it all went together. Money, greed and the government.

Since this is written in a very public magazine, the government must know about the toxic chemicals they are allowing us to ingest on a daily basis. If you can remember back to a few years ago, parents raised a (well deserved) stink about BPA in baby bottles. What the hell were manufacturers thinking by allowing that kind of toxic plastic to be in a baby bottle. Especially when they know that the bottles are heated multiple times a day, causing those toxins to leak directly into the baby’s #1 food source.

And what about the waste issue? The people who should care don’t because why? They’re making money. And you can’t take money with you to the grave. Who cares what kind of world they leave behind once they’re rotting in the ground, right? Sad, but true. I refuse to believe that everyone is bad, but it’s hard to know what’s right and good. I’m forced to question everything.

I won’t lie. I have been lazy in the past (a lot) and reheated leftovers in the tupperware. That’s a big no no. And I’ve made a conscious effort to stop. But, I know that if it’s plastic, it’s going to have chemicals, and when you heat them, they will ooze into what you eat.

BUT – 17 million barrels of crude oil are used to make bottled water every year. I had no idea. And this makes me very angry. I can’t believe I ever purchased a bottle of water. Convenience aside, tap water aside, toxins aside, this is created with the need of crude oil…what is currently spilling into the Gulf. It is causing mass casualties of our natural resources…lives were lost. For what? So many things require the use of crude oil. I understand this. But bottled water? Something so trivial. (See this blog about the oil spill. She put it so perfectly.) When you can buy a 10 dollar reusable aluminum bottle? Hell, buy 10 so you have one everywhere you go. 100 dollars is a drop in the bucket compared to what the average American spends on bottled products in a year. Pepsi and Coke products use PET plastic bottles. So not only are you getting unneeded calories and HFCS, but you’re getting some super awesome toxic chemicals.

Yum!

So where is our morality? Where is the honesty? Why have we become a nation of LA LA LA! I CAN’T HEAR YOU!?!?

They say ignorance is bliss, but I say ignorance is ignorant.

I choose not to be ignorant.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on June 2, 2010, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I left my morality in my other pants.

  2. I have always refuesed to buy bottled water for the primary reason that it COMES FOR FREE OUT OF MY FREAKIN’ FAUCET.

    It’s simple… acquire a container you like, and keep filling it up! Why is that so hard?

    I think half the attraction is being seen with the bottle. But even so, buy ONE and refill it! We have the greatest public water system in the world… why buy it elsewhere? Hell, they just use tap water most of the time anyway…

  3. I’m with Bluz. The only time I buy bottled water is for a party or something, and frankly, I’m loathe to do it then.

    But I choose not to be ignorant either!

  4. From now on, I’m only drinking water out of the toilet. You’ve inspired me!

  5. On the bright side, it is one thing we can do in response to the spill. It’s hard to use less gas when I have a long commute to work. But I certainly can resolve that I’ve bought my last bottle of water.

    Thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

