City of Bridges…a pictorial overview

Today the kids and I took a walk from Heinz Lofts area on River Avenue to PPG Place where Matt works and back:

First of all, as you can clearly tell, this is a dated photo. PNC Park and Heinz Field are there, but a whole lotta construction is missing in between, as well as a lot of work around the point. Anywho, you get the idea.

Ready for a whole bunch of photos? OK!

At the beginning part of the walk. There was a train that had just gone through and Claire about peed her pants in excitement.

Now we KNOW our city is way cooler than any other city because we have Andrew Carnegie snorkeling in the Allegheny. Rock on, old dude. (Rather dead dude.)

While it may look peaceful, we’re under the Ft. Duquesne Bridge, the busiest bridge in the city (in my own opinion) connecting the North Side to everywhere else. We walked across the bridge to get to the other side.

LOVE my city of bridges!

Claire checkin’ out the sculptures. They’re all graffiti ridden…it’s sad. Some people have no respect.

For my Aunt Emily: The Andy Warhol Bridge. (I’m pretty sure. I can’t really tell in this photo.)

Some dudes doing Tai Chi. Claire thought it looked like fun. I told her it required patience and she said, “No thanks.”

Claire in her self proclaimed Movie Star sunglasses.

I gave each the kids a wild daisy flower…

Luca ate his.

Looking up at the train tracks. Claire was in complete awe.

All in all, it was a great day. Both the kids are passed out and I’m BEAT.

What’d you guys do today that was fun?

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on June 8, 2010, in Cassie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Awesome! I did nothing in comparison.

  2. I just realized I was signed in as you. Obviously you were here on this site when you used my computer last week! LOL Anyway, now it looks like your alter ego left a comment 🙂

  3. Took me a second there to figure out who was doing what…

    Lynn, you must really love your daughter, to refrain from pulling off all kinds of mischief under her name!

    Beautiful pix, Cassie. I love hanging out by the bridges, on the rare occasions I have the opportunity.

  4. That Andrew Carnegie thing is the super-awesomest. I love it when cities have a sense of humor.

  5. Thanks to this post, I’ve decided that if I ever become a supervillain (which is probable), I’m going to use the giant head of Andrew Carnegie as my main mode of transportation.

  6. Just found out last week that work is sending me to Pittsburgh in June 2011! What a beautiful city. Can’t wait to see it myself. 🙂

    • Cassie or Carly

      Let me know when you’re here! I’d love to meet you and show you around to the awesomeness that is Pittsburgh. It really is a beautiful city. I’ll never leave.

  7. I think that’s the Warhol bridge…

    Portland, OR and Pittsburgh should be sister cities. They have just as many if not more bridges as Pittsburgh! Carye did a whole print series of Portland bridges and I know she really wants to visit Pittsburgh. We gotta make this happen 🙂

    Check out all the bridge postcards Carye made:

    http://www.redbatpress.com/shop_theme_Portland.htm

Leave a Reply

