Pregnancy blues

No, not those kind of blues. I’m sure that’ll come after.

No, no. These are the blues that involve me having cravings. Never with any of my other pregnancies did I ever have a craving. So I’m thinking to myself, WTF?

A few weeks ago I called Matt on his way home from work in desperate need for nachos. He bought the needed supplies and when he got home, he made them. Good man. Now, the thought of eating nachos makes me feel nauseous.

Today. Carly nonchalantly tells me that she made homemade eggrolls and that they were delicious. Well then, ding ding ding! goes my brain and I WANT EGGROLLS. NOW. NOM NOM NOM.

Not so lucky for me, Matt’s out of town.

By 6:30, I had had enough. I went in search of eggrolls. This brought me to Giant Eagle. When I got there, I decided, ah hell, I’ll just get prepared food for all! Claire wanted pizza and I got Luca macaroni. Then I saw the salad bar and decided that’s what I wanted.

And eggrolls.

……

Sadly, the eggrolls weren’t very good. I ate them in the car on the way home, of course, and shared with the kids. Neither of us were really impressed.  Claire said, “No thank you, Mommy. I can’t like it.”

…..

Complaint number two. Tiredness.

Yup, of course, being pregnant means that you’re tired. Well, with two kids two and under, it makes it really hard to enjoy being  a sloth.

I take naps every chance I get and thank the good lord that my kids nap at the same time together. I amaze myself as a mother sometimes.

Anywho, yesterday my step-dad came by to paint my bedroom for me as a surprise for Matt. Our ‘dungeon’ as we used to lovingly call it was a terribly dark blue. It wasn’t the color I had originally wanted, however, (9++9+9+9++ <— Hello from Luca!) we lived with it for several years. I finally got tired enough of it that I instilled Joe into helping. He’s an excellent painter. But my room is HUGE. I mean, HUGE. We have cathedral ceilings and you already know about the aforementioned DARK BLUE that had to get covered. I chose a nice grey that was titled “Careless Whisper.” Yup. I chose it based on the cheesyness of the name. So, anyways, the room is huge and it took poor Joe until 2:30 AM to finish the final coat.

This then left me to sleep in the guest bedroom. You know, paint fumes and all.

No fun.

Now I feel really bad every week I make Carly sleep on that bed. It’s just plain wrong. See, my bed has this super pimped out mattress topper that’s simply amazing. I got it shortly after Claire was born and I haven’t looked back since. I loved it so much that Claire has one on her bed and Luca will, too, when the time comes.

For Carly’s birthday last year, we bought her one. These things are amazing, decently priced, and SO WORTH IT.

So here I am, sleeping in the guest room. . . uncomfortable . . . trying . . . failing . . .

And what do normal people do at 3:30 in the morning when they can’t sleep? I cleaned my kitchen and facebooked.

Then I crawled into bed with Claire.

At 6 AM, Claire announces, “Mommy, the clock says it’s time to get up.”

So I did what any normal, well-balanced mother would do: I parented from bed.

“Hun, go pee pee on the potty.”

“OK, Mama!”

“Grab a few books and come lay in bed and read.”

“Ooh, I love this book!”

“Good….”

This then lasted us until 7.

Let’s just say that my afternoon nap consisted of me laying, passed out, and to the naked eye would appear I had died. When I woke up, I didn’t know where I was (because the room looked SO different,) I hadn’t moved, and my tongue was stuck to the roof of my mouth.

…..

Only 33 more weeks to go!

This is the new paint color and the Father’s Day gift the kids did for Matt. Luca’s is on the left, Claire’s is on the right. I thought they did a pretty good job. It sits above our headboard.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on June 30, 2010, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I am so talking to you when I get preg one day. You are a super mom!

  2. Hahaha! I think George Michael would be rather pleased that paint was named after a Wham! song. However, I don’t think he’d like that it was gray. I do like the color in your room – that really brightened it up, didn’t it?

    “No thank you, Mommy, I can’t like it.” I. Love. Her.

  3. Am I banned from wearing black and white stripe patterns around you again this pregnancy?

    • Cassie or Carly

      Ha! Probably. A doc was wearing something like that the other day and I kept saying, “Doc, I’d love to look at you, but I am getting nauseous from your shirt.”

  4. “Can’t like it.” LOL… my nephew Daniel used to say that. It’s like they WANT to please mommy and daddy, but the food is just too bad.

  5. I have a sneaking suspicion that, when I’m p.g., I will crave EVERYTHING ALL THE TIME. I’m kind of a “craving” sort of girl all the time.

    I’m sorry you’re so pooped, hon, but I LOVE the new bedroom color and the kids’ artwork! What a clever idea!

  6. As a mommy of 8 (yes, EIGHT) I can tell you I’ve had a couple of pgs with cravings and a couple with anti-cravings. I’m sure there’s a word for that, but it’s past 1:30 am and I can’t think of it. With #1 I HAD TO HAVE stuffing whenever possible. With #2 I HAD TO HAVE hot fudge sundaes. With #7 I could not be in the same state with peanut butter. *gag* That one didn’t go away. I still can’t stand it. And with #8 I HAD TO HAVE olives. I hated olives during all my previous 40 years. Suddenly, couldn’t get enough of them. I’m still eating them. Apparently I’ve traded peanut butter for olives. :/

    Anyway, if you ever wanna complain or share stories or ask for advice you know where to find me. I’m also on facebook (Elisa Ashley McCrea) and Twitter (madmothwhat). Nice to meet you!

    • Cassie or Carly

      Wow. 8! I’ve always had aversions to food, just not cravings. So this is weird territory for me…

      Welcome, though! 🙂

  7. I loved you a lil bit before today but choosing a paint color based on the cheeseball name makes me love you long time.

  8. Hmmm. I have cravings. And, I’m usually tired. Damn, I hope I’m not pregnant. (Or maybe pregnancy is a lot like being a man pushing 50. In your case, however, it will go away in a few months.)

Leave a Reply

