a phone call of despiration

Ring…ring…ring…

“Hello?”

“DOUGHNUTS.”

“What?”

“DOUGHNUTS!”

“Hon, I can’t understand you. Let me call you back.”

….

Ring…ring…

“DOUGHNUTS.”

Laughing…”Really?”

“Chocolate covered with sprinkles and sugar covered ones.”

“I’ll be home by 3, 3:30 at the latest.”

“With doughnuts?”

“With doughnuts.”

…..

I love my husband. Sure he’s driving from Philadelphia, but I remind him that I went through two other pregnancies without a single ridiculous craving that we didn’t already have in the house. So, OK, this is my 3rd craving, but I’m beginning to sense a pattern here.

He’ll be home in an hour. Hour and a half max. Then this annoying feeling will go away.

….

It’s OK, guys. I went to the gym today.

And stop laughing, Mom!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on July 1, 2010, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. A mama’s gotta do what a mama’s gotta do!

  2. Funny, with Louie I had no cravings other than a strong urge for spinach here and there. With him, I had more aversions (like the smell of bread) but my girls were a different story.
    Maddie, my oldest, all I wanted was blueberry muffins and milk. I was literally drinking at least a half gallon a day. When I gained 10 pounds between weekly appts at the end, the doc actually threatened to make me drink skim milk if I didn’t slow it down. Hopefully, her bones are strong as hell because of it. With her, my aversion was coffee and bacon.
    With Laynie, I went through phases. One phase was PB&J sandwiches, like 4 or 5 a day, for weeks. Then near the end of the pg, oranges came in season, and all I wanted was an orange, 4 or 5 times a day. Funnier still is the fact that for about 5 years, she would ONLY eat PB&Js for lunch. Nothing else. I don’t remember having any aversions with her, but she mucked my world up many other ways I probably didn’t have time to form aversions to anything other than pregnancy.
    :o) I will admit, I miss being pg a little. Enjoy!

  3. I’m sorry… aversion to bacon just does not compute. The only option I face on bacon is 1) eating bacon or 2) eating more bacon.

    • Cassie or Carly

      Ick! Bacon! I have never even remotely liked bacon. You’d fit in with Carly 3 months ago. Now she’s a vegetarian.

  4. I can’t wait until I can justify these sorts of demands and cravings to my husband! Ha ha. Enjoy!

  5. I just hope you start craving something healthy!

  6. So if I were to have a third kid, I would have cravings, too? Like you, I didn’t have any cravings with Ian and Gabriel. Hang in there, kiddo.

    And a shout out to bluzdude: BACON RULES!!!!!!!!

  7. Chocolate-covered with sprinkles. Not jelly-filled. Not kolaches. CHOCOLATE-COVERED WITH SPRINKLES, DAMMIT!

    Heee! Well, at least it’s not something weird and disgusting like apple pie topped with sardines.

Leave a Reply

