afternoons with Grammy

My Mom had knee surgery 5 weeks ago. She had a ‘buff and shine’ done so that she could put off a complete knee replacement for at least another 5 to 10 years.

She has this sexy pink leopard print cane to help her get around, but in the confines of the house, she does well without it.

One thing I have to say about Mom is that she loves the stuffing out of the kids.

See exhibit A:

Exhibit B:

Not that they’re hard to love. It’s just that, when Grammy’s around, there’s an electricity in the air. Both the kids can feel it so much stronger than me, but I know it’s there. Everything immediately becomes happy, harmonious, vibrant.

I know I’ve mentioned in the past all the things Mom had gone through while we were kids. And there’s really no need to harp on them. What I want to point out is that, when we were kids, Mom was so dang busy keeping us afloat that she never really got to enjoy us as much as she probably wanted to. Don’t get me wrong, we had a good childhood, full of fun memories and all that jazz, but this is so much more different. And sure, everyone can say it’s because it’s her grandchildren and not her children…yadda yadda yadda. But I say, no.

Visits with Mom are always fun. Post surgery are even more fun. Why? Because she is that much more excited to see us as we are her. Nothing is taken for granted. Limitations are nearly forgotten. The kids are euphoric.

Sure the kids are half naked. The house is a wreck. Luca is nearly delirious from lack of sleep. The dog keeps getting in the way…

But Claire is teaching Grammy a new way to play soccer, Luca is finding new ways to steal Grammy’s blackberry, and I sit and watch in amazement that are my kids and my Mom.

Life is pretty damn sweet.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on July 27, 2010, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Aww…you made me cry. Again. Thank you for this, Cassie. I had such a wonderful time today. Seeing them AND you made my heart just swell. I needed that so much. And Claire was so kind to find my cane and was so worried about my knee…. I love you all so much. Mom

  2. WOW! For somebody who just had pretty major surgery, your mom looks GREAT!

    Yay for awesome grandmothers!

Leave a Reply

