Someone get me a burger, stat!

Hello, my name is Carly, and I’m a vegetarian. 

Let me rephrase that. Hello, my name is Carly and I’m a hungry, dying-to-eat-a-cheese-burger vegetarian. That’s right, I’m literally hanging on by a thread and this girl wants meat! I don’t know what’s happening to me.  I haven’t eaten a cow or a chicken or a pig in nearly five months and up until this moment, that’s been fine. So why, now, do I feel like throwing myself off the no-bacon wagon?

I think the base line is that I need to find a balance. There were two big reasons I gave up meat. The first is that over Valentine’s Day I was struck with the stomach flu, which hit only hours after I ate nearly half a cow. So, needless to say, the mere thought of beef just totally grossed me out for the longest time. My second and more important reason has to do with ethics and health. The amount of meat our county consumes is frightening and the majority of our slaughtering practices are sad. Morally, it’s something I don’t want to support and typically my morality wins out over my growling belly. Even tonight…sadly. Of course it doesn’t help that Ben’s eating some delicious hot dogs right next to me. Temptation is an evil bitch.

At least I can still eat chocolate.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on July 28, 2010, in Carly and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Choke a bitch! (That’s to Ben.)

    I made some delicious turkey burgers the other day…they were spectacular.

    OK, seriously, that was mean. Lentil burgers are good. I could make you one tomorrow!

  2. Jen Shropshire

    Well, I don’t think I could ever give up delicious meats… especially turkey burger, but if it makes you feel any better, Hot Dogs aren’t real meat anyway 🙂

    Love the blog ladies!

  3. BACONNNNNNNN! BaconBaconBaconnnn!

    I’m just like that commercial for the bacon-flavored dog treats.

    For a great look at vegetarianism, check out this clip from Denis Leary’s old concert movie, “No Cure for Cancer.”
    Unfortunately, I can’t get just the piece I’m looking for, but he gets to it about 6 and a half minutes in. Meanwhile, his bit on smoking and voice boxes is a hoot.

    • Cassie or Carly

      LOL!!! “…meat is murder and murder tastes pretty f’ing good!” I forgot how crazy Denis Leary is!

      • The Tracheotomy Guy at the Drive-thru kills me too…

        This movie was hilarious… if you’ve never seen it, you should check it out.. most of it is in bits on You Tube.

  4. Go to Whole Foods. They probably have the phone number of the farmer who slaughtered the cow you are going to eat, so you can have a conversation with him/her to be sure that the standard of living for the animal was second to none. Hahaha!

    All jokes aside, I buy Trader Joe’s organic grass-fed beef. I feel good about it because I know the meat isn’t tainted with e-coli and that the animal most likely had a decent enough life. In fact, tonight I am making chili with that meat (plus some tasty ground bison). Sure, it’s more expensive, but if you’re only going to have a cheeseburger once and a while, that’s the way to go.

    And, of course, everything is better with bacon, but that’s a whole other conversation. I’m going to side with Bluz on that one! LOL!

    The point is is that there are ways of getting high quality, humanely slaughtered, minimally processed meats. If you don’t plan on eating meat very often, this may be a path worth exploring for you. I believe denying ourselves things that we want leads us down an unhappy path. You have all the right reasons to not want to eat supermarket meat – I saw Food, Inc., too, but it’s not just the meat that’s the problem. Big, no HUGE, sigh on that one. Love ya!

    • Cassie or Carly

      I’m all for the good meat. I believe in humane practices and I think it’s becoming a real movement in this country. I’m so glad places like Whole Foods don’t try to hide where their meat came from. What we eat shouldn’t be a secret!

  5. Did you know, the CEO dude of Whole Foods is a big old right wing conservative? Not the do-gooder hippie one would expect….

    • Cassie or Carly

      Well of course. Dude’s smart enough to know what people want, plus he has the know-how to over price shit.

  6. Carly, I greatly admire your resolve, but I get the DTs just THINKING about a life sans bacon.

  7. There used to be a billboard in Chicago on the way to the airport that read… “Broccoli would taste better if it was made of meat and slathered in BBQ sauce.”

    Word.

Leave a Reply

