I’m confused.

In the past few days I’ve had it up to here with people being rude, belligerent, and/or totally unjustified in what they’re saying.

Let me explain:

What put me over the edge was, this evening, my neighbors are having a Labor Day party. My neighbors are really super cool. I’ve never had a complaint about them EVER. This isn’t even about them. This is about one of their friends attending the party.

After taking the kids out of the tub, each child went to their respected rooms, windows open, curtains drawn. I had Luca on the changing table, getting dressed for bed when I heard this man yelling – no screaming – at his kid. When I got to the window, I saw this toddler, about Claire’s age, running back towards my neighbor’s house, in my front lawn.

I’m no Mike Lange, I’d never say, “Get that dog off my lawn!” towards a kid. Unless you’re being unruly. This kid was just lost. No biggie.

What does the dad say with beer in one hand, cigarette in the other? “Get the fuck back over here! Your ass is going into a time out.” His girlfriend/wife/significant other said, “Watch your language,” as she’s laughing, clearly not caring.

And what are they raising?

As a parent, this appals me.  Sickens me. And what’s worse? I didn’t react quickly enough to say out the window, “Seriously, dude? My kids can hear you. Watch your mouth on my property.”

But because I love my neighbors so much, I refrained. And the dude was big. Although I was up on the second story and my neighbor Carrie would probably kick his butt if she heard what he said. She has zero tolerance for idiots.

Plus, this is a completely uncommon occurrence in my neighborhood. We’re pretty straight-laced. White bread. Volvo, Lexus, Jeep, Mercury, Dodge driving yuppies. Hard working, paper-pushing, mortgage paying people. We lock our doors at night, grill on our decks, and keep to ourselves. But we always say hi, wave as we drive past and offer our help if someone’s in over their heads on a project.

Openly treating your kid like dirt? Big huge no-no. I don’t live in Highland Park anymore, people. I left the city. I’m a suburbanite now. Please leave your trash mouth at home and save it for a football game.

Next. Let me introduce y’all to a word: ignorant.

Ig-nor-ant:

1. lacking in knowledge or training; unlearned: an ignorant man.
2. uninformed; unaware.
3. due to or showing lack of knowledge or training: an ignorant statement.

Why is it that in the past few days, I’ve heard this word used by people who were, themselves, ignorant. More specifically, ignorant to what the word ignorant means. All I heard were ignorant statements where they were using the word ignorant. As a verb. And I’m confused.

And now, here, at 8:30 at night, I can’t remember how it was used in a sentence. Perhaps, I, myself am being ignorant.

Gosh, karma is a bitch.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on September 5, 2010, in Cassie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You are most definitely NOT ignorant! I don’t blame you one bit for being upset that an IGNORANT redneck shouted profanities where your kids could hear. I’m sure your neighbor dealt with it forthwith.

Leave a Reply

