Hello, my name is Cassie and I’m organizationally challenged.

*Sigh* I can’t understand why I can’t figure out what organization is. Dictionary.com defines it as: something that is organized. Wow. Thanks, Websters. But here’s my dilemma. I can’t do it. I’m organizationally challenged. To the max. To be completely honest, if Martha Stewart was willing, I’d preform all kinds of lewd acts for her so she’d fix my home. …in my dreams, I suppose.

I can keep my house clean, that’s for sure. If you guys can remember, when I lost my sanity through Postpartum Depression, I also gained a whole new perspective on life. I gave up a whole lot of things and made some very big changes. For example:

1. High Fructose Corn Syrup does not enter my house at will. If it does, it mysteriously disappears to the trash.

2. Ditto to artificial dyes. I’m looking at you red #40.

3. No chemicals are used to clean my house. I am strictly a vinegar gal these days. And my biffles Nicole educated me on the finer points of making it smell pleasant. Here’s the tip: peppermint oil. I put about 10 drops into one of my spray bottles of straight vinegar and presto. You can’t even tell it’s vinegar at all, in fact, the peppermint scent lingers a bit and it reminds me of candy canes.

4. I make my own laundry soap.

5. I do 60/40 cloth to disposable diapering. Typically it’s only when I’m home. No one else is man enough to do it.

6. I use only organic soaps and conditioners for my kids. Ever since I read about the controversy with Johnson and Johnson’s bath soap being directly linked to cervical cancer in girls…yah, no.

7. Luca’s formula (when he was still drinking from a bottle and I had retired my boobs) was organic.

8. All chicken we consume (which isn’t much) is free range and organic.

9. Speaking of meat, I was super impressed when Matt agreed to this – but I only allow 3 or 4 meat meals a week. Damn you, Carly for making me think twice about everything. However, I’m not the carnivore around here. I hardly eat it even when I do make it.

10. My batteries are rechargeable.

11. We recycle everything recyclable. Technically that hasn’t changed for me since I’m a recycling Nazi from birth. BUT our township recycles cereal boxes and such now. Woo woo. Plus, all paper gets recycled, too. Matt’s big on that, too.

12. Until it turned cold and rainy, I made a clothes line to dry cloth diapers and such.

13. My kids’ vitamins are made from whole food concentrates. Did you know Flintstone vitamins have red #40 in them? Yup. Drat.

So anywho, organization. I totally lack it. (And a basic attention span, clearly.) I don’t know what’s wrong with me. Actually, I blame it on my kitchen. Did you know that my kitchen only has 6 cabinets and 5 drawers? And of the 6 cabinets, only 3 are ‘normal’ sized and by ‘normal’ I mean they make me question the designers’ sanity. And the 5th drawer is big enough for two rolls of tin foil. I think it’s safe to say that it’s hard to work with that kind of…absence.

Then there’s my counter space. I measured it once. I have 150 inches. And of those 150 inches, you have to accommodate for my stove and sink.  I have about 20 inches of workable space.

Jealous?

So why on earth would I ever think I could be organized?

Good point, Cassie. Good point.

A few months ago, my Mom gave me a gift card to Thecontainerstore.com and instead of buying something to organize my life a bit, I got a new magnetic white board calendar. Oh – and by the way, Mom – after just typing that sentence, thanks for the hint about how I need to be a bit more organized.

Next – the dining room. I keep my vitamins on there, Claire’s crayons, drawings, puzzles, anything else that finds it way to the table…and we still eat on it every night. That’s talent. What I need is one of those fancy dining room buffet things, but alas, that’s thinking.

Then there’s the living room. Have you ever gone into someone’s house that’s the exact structural match as yours and thought how theirs is so much more organized and clean? (Because those two things go hand in hand, you see.) No? You haven’t? I have. My neighbors’ houses on either side are my twins. Annoying? Yes. And what’s more annoying? Knowing my house is not as different as my personality clearly shows or that my house’s twin is in far better shape than my own?

We’ll just leave that out there.

We won’t even go to the bedrooms. That’s just plain scary. Oh so scary.

So. Martha. Seriously, girl. If you’re reading this, and by the way, if you are, I’d totally pee my pants, help me. Send HGTV. Hallmark Channel. Food Network. Whoever you’re with these days. Please. I’m begging you. Save me from myself.

I seriously don’t want to end up a Discovery Channel special on hoarders or gross homes or something. For reals.

I’m pathetic.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 6, 2010, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. LOL! Did you know Martha Stewart was on Oprah yesterday? I only know that because I was still at your house after you left doing laundry and watching your cable television. (such a luxury for me!) She had a ton of tips for organizing. Don’t worry, though, I can help you if you ever really want to take the organizational plunge. Next time you’re at my house, check out my pathetically small kitchen. I have that thing packed to the max (all organized, of course) and it’s totally functional. 🙂 Love you!

  2. I like the peppermint idea. Pinky uses vinegar and baking soda to clean everything. Whenever I go into the shower after she’s cleaned, I feel like a salad.

  3. Hire me! I need more work. I’ll get you organized in no time and you’ll have less stuff. Less stuff = better. Trust me. We are the king and queen of organization around here. We purge the kids’ toys and clothes on a monthly basis. If it isn’t being played with, buh-bye. If it’s too small, buh-bye. Now, I know you still have little ones and are saving things like toys and clothes – I totally get it. But let me guess…. they need to be organized? 😉

    All joking aside, I know you know this stuff. Ikea makes all kinds of great containers and who doesn’t love spending the afternoon there, right?!

    Love you!

  4. It’s not even funny how many times Eric and I have said we’d love HGTV to come to our house. He’s always on the lookout for the guy that does House Crashers when he’s at Lowe’s.
    As for organization, I have lots of good ideas and very little time and energy to make it happen. So I totally feel your pain. And I have no suggestions. This week was supposed to be my “Get it Together” week before I go full-time next week. Did it happen? Uh no, not even a little.

  5. My house would make you feel better about yours. I am the queen of clutter piles. 😦

    I love all your big changes to your life. We are still learning to move away from chemicals and bad food items. It’s a lot easier when we eat in, that’s for sure! But we’re planning on surrounding baby with safe things, so we will persist!

  6. For a while I got paid to be the “team” that came to the rescue on Hoarders. It wasn’t exactly what I had in mind when I went to school for Interior Decoration.

  7. The Mrs. and I are both pilers. We make piles. It’s what we do. Mostly stuff that comes in the mail. Bills, magazines, coupons. We don’t file it away like normal people. Then, the place gets out of control and we have to attack the piles.

    Your gift card to the container store? We would have lost it. It would have been in a pile somewhere. Actaully, we wouldn’t have lost it. We would have found it eventually, a month after it expired.

    Oh, and, bacon, bacon, bacon, bacon, bacon, bacon, bacon, bacon!

  8. I don’t have any organizational issues so if you need help let me know. I buy as much organic as possible, no HFCS, we recycle to the max and we just put in a compost in our yard. As for cleaners I use mostly Shaklee products which are chemical free except in the bathroom and kitchen areas. I need Clorox. I just do. Its my one vice. Plus I notice mold comes back quicker if I don’t use Clorox. How does vinegar hold up to mold in the bathroom? However, I am interested in this J&J controversy you talked about. Do you have a link?

  9. When we met did you notice a post-it on my forehead that said, “Hello, my name is Cher and I am organizationally challenged”? If not, I must have forgotten to bring it.

  10. If it makes you feel better, I basically live with my boyfriend, and he has a galley kitchen with TWO normal-sized cupboards, one half-size cupboard, and NO DRAWERS. He has about 12 inches of counter space, and that’s being very generous. However, we don’t feed any kids in that kitchen, which has to make it easier.

    I’m really impressed with the lengths you go to to be healthier. I’d love to become more organized, too. I’ve decided that I’m always going to hang on to stuff, so I should just suck it up and buy more things to hide my stuff in. Love that Container Store.

  11. I’m organizationally challenged as well. I try real hard and have great aspirations but it always ends up only partially organized. A chunk of my home office is still sitting in the living room as I am mid-way through organizing. That seems to be a perpetual state for me. If you find a magic organizational bullet be sure to share 🙂

  12. You’re pathetic? YOU’RE pathetic?! PLEASE. I WISH I were as “pathetic” as you!! You’re Super Mom!

Leave a Reply

