weekend hangover

It’s Monday morning-ish and I’m enjoying the birds chirping and the kids playing with balloons semi-quietly. Today is a good day.

Yesterday was spent catching up on sleep, laundry and life in general. When we got home from Ohio, Luca was already asleep and while Matt was laying him in his crib, Claire went into her room and said, “I’m ready to sleep, too, guys.” Perfect timing, I thought, since I was exhausted and Matt was dead on his feet.

At 11:50 AM, the house was silent.

After everyone was up and slightly mobile I decided to wash the bedsheets. I don’t know about y’all, but clean bedsheets make me feel nearly 100% better no matter what’s wrong in the world. I think I washed my bedsheets on 9/11, actually.

So last night, we ate a decent dinner (thanks, Mom, for the veggie stew leftovers!) and the kids were bathed and in bed at their normal bed time. I love schedules and feeling normal.

This morning, I was ready to conquer the day. I had plans, you see. I’ve stuck to them for the most part, but it didn’t look like I was going to get anything done when I was nearly in an accident.

So picture if you will, I’m driving down 910 on my regular route to the gym when all of a sudden there’s a lane closure. Now, they’ve been doing construction on 910 since spring and I’m used to the way the road is all changed. HOWEVER – there’s a pretty sharp bend:

And without any warning, there was a lane closure. So here I am, driving down the road, going the speed limit of 35 when all of a sudden, what do I see, but a few cars STOPPED in front of me. I slammed on the brakes and managed to miss the car in front of me by about 3 feet. (Thanks, Volvo!) But when I looked in the rear view mirror, there was a woman going much faster than I was and actually laid a patch of rubber on the cement as her tires squealed to stop. I yelled to the kids, “Hang on, I think we’re going to be hit!” but someone must had been looking out for us, because she stopped with an inch to spare. The car behind her was just as close. (The star indicates where the flagger was at.) And the best part of this all? PennDOT failed to put a sign stating that there was either a flagger ahead or even that there was a lane closure. NOTHING. So I called the project manager and left him a slightly calm message about how they need to be more careful and WARN someone and for the love of God make it happen NOW.

And as I’m typing this, I can hear a rescue vehicle going in the direction of where 910 is…what are the odds, I wonder?!?

Anywho, here are a few photos from the wedding. And by the way, my dress was TOTALLY planned to be black and gold for the Pens who played that night. Never mind they lost. I was at least showing some support even if they couldn’t hold a 2-1 lead. I’M NOT BITTER!

The Duc of Luc fell asleep in the car before the ceremony. I managed to hold him for another 20 minutes. I think in the end it bought me an extra 45 minutes that night.

Busting a move! My kid has moves you ain’t never seen. Plus my legs looked pretty good that night. Heels help, of course.


Claire in the limo-bus. She had fun, apparently.

Claire sat with me during the ceremony. As she came down the aisle, it took everything in me not to cry. She looked so beautiful.

Props to Ben on this awesome shot.

This photo is just a great reminder to me of why I love him so much.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 11, 2010, in Cassie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. You all clean up real nice! Love the Luc-man’s natty little vest. Dude is going to rule the pre-school!

  2. Clean bedsheets always make me feel better too! And I love that first pic of you and Luca. You definitely don’t look pregnant either!

  3. So glad you and the kids are all right. Close calls like that are scary. That’s why we have guardian angels. You look beautiful in your dress, dawling! And the children are awesomely gorgeous. 🙂

  4. SO GLAD YOU GUYS WEREN’T HURT. GAH.

    What a lovely family. I hope I’m so lucky one day!

  5. Awww..you’re all adorable and you, pregnant lady are SMOKING! 🙂

    And Damn PennDOT…what the hell man.

Leave a Reply

