He came home with flowers.

Today was a long day. Not in the sense of patients dying or fights with my husband. I didn’t even stub my toe. I had another night of insomnia coupled with Boscoe being locked in Luca’s room for the night.

At 3:30, I pathetically climbed back into bed having been awake for 3 hours. At 4:07, Luca was up and mad. Boscoe was locked in his room and apparently wanted out. No big deal, I let Boss out and crawled back into bed.

Ten minutes later, Claire was up.

Thirty minutes after that, she was up again.

Two minutes after that, Luca was awake for the day.

It was 5ish and I tried to rock him back to sleep, and all he did was stare at me. Matt had gotten out of the shower then, and he took Luca downstairs.

But I couldn’t fall back asleep. I was running on 2 hours of sleep, maybe, and I was, well…emotional? Is that the word?

I started to cry when Matt asked if I’d like some tea.

Why I was sad is irrelevant. It’s really silly, anyways. Matt promised it’d stay between us. Good man.

And to be completely honest, I don’t even remember what I said. At 7 when Claire came downstairs and Luca went down to sleep, I passed out on the couch. He covered me up with a blanket and went about his morning feeding Claire breakfast and getting his stuff together. At 7:30, Matt told me he had a meeting and had to go. I think I mumbled “bye,” but I can’t really remember. I just know he left. Claire sat next to me on the couch while I slept and only bothered me when a show she didn’t like came on.

She poked me awake at 9:15 telling me that the sun was up and I should be up, too.

After Luca woke up, we went to the gym and went about our lives as normal.

I had completely forgotten about this morning, like it was all a drunken nightmare, left with nothing but some puffy eyes.

But then Matt came home with flowers. And mint chocolate chip ice cream, which is my favorite. (Really, is there any other ice cream flavor?) And I hugged him and I teared up a bit and I was reminded again of how lucky I am.

He knew I was tired. He knew I had been sad. He knew how to make it all better. A simple gesture of flowers and my favorite ice cream and a hug with a genuine smile.

We may not always be on the same page. We’re pretty much exact opposites. He works a lot, he likes to watch TV to relax and isn’t a big talker. He insists on stretching before bed and when he goes a few days without running, his back hurts. His favorite desert is tiramisu (yuck) and he loves eggplant parmigiana (double yuck.) He likes to keep busy. He doesn’t like plums. He is nothing like me. But he’s always listening. He’s always in the know. And he knows exactly what to do to make me happy again in any situation.

And the amazing part? I wasn’t even upset with him. He wasn’t even the issue.

Incredible.

My husband is a good man. He’s an excellent father. He’s an amazing boss. He believes in his work team and tells him so as often as he can. He loves the Penguins and lives to give my step-dad a hard time about being from Philly. He spent his entire sign on bonus on a down payment for my engagement ring because he knew it was my perfect ring. He didn’t even think twice about wanting to marry me. He’s never given up on me, and trust me, he puts up with a lot.

He’s a good man and he came home with flowers.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 28, 2010, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. There is no other flavor of ice cream!

    And, Matt, you rule! I’m gonna hug you when I see you next! Oh, yes I am!

  2. Awww. That’s so sweet. 🙂

  3. I’m so glad you got a good one. And it’s sweet that you recognize that.

    Just remember… so did he.

  4. This is so sweet. He totally wins the husband prize today. Don’t you love that despite, or really because, you’re opposites you get along so well? Mark and I are the same way.

    p.s. I think mint chocolate is an abomination, but I still like you anyway. 😉

  5. Oh, SNIFF! I’ve just spent a whole week pretty much having only two thoughts:

    1. The Guy is so dreamy (reasons why, etc.).
    2. Is it time to reapply sunscreen?

    And this just reminded me (AGAIN) why I got married to him and went on a honeymoon in the first place. We BOTH got good ones, and they’re worth their weight in gold!

  6. See, we need the hard times in order to have really good times. Who wants a life with no ups and downs? Nobody got hurt. Nobody lost their job. And you got ice cream. The future looks bright.

Leave a Reply

