Hug a Veteran Day!

Rough tough men and women of the military deserve hugs today. I’m not a hugger, but today, damnit, I am.

I don’t really consider myself to be a Veteran. On paper, sure, I am. I have the uniforms, papers, award certificates and metals to prove it. I just didn’t get the opportunity to prove myself as a true veteran. But broken hip be damned, I loved every minute of it.

Do I wish I could have gone over to Iraq with my unit? Yes. Even knowing my life would be completely different from what it is now? Yes. Have I ever said that out loud before? No. I’d never trade my kids or husband, ever. But I do know that when I signed those papers back when I was 17, I signed them and meant it. I’m a doer. I’m a person who, when I make up my mind, do it. I didn’t plan on breaking my hip. Not for a second. I also didn’t foresee the broken foot, either. (Foot came first, hip came second.) Clearly, something was happening so I wouldn’t have to go, but still. I felt it as my obligation to my unit, my family and my country. And the only other people in the world who can understand that feeling are people who are or have served before. It’s that sense of pride, accomplishment. That’s something no one can take away from me.

So today I say thanks. To my Grandpa Marty, my Aunt Debbie, my Uncle Steve, my biological father Lee, my high school friends, my best basic buddy Brown, all the guys I served with at the 298th Transportation Company, the little old guy named Bill who I hugged at the gym today to say thanks, and all other veterans out there. All of you, you know who you are, are doing something completely selfless. Not many people can say that they have done that.

Today is your day. Walk with pride. Hooah.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 11, 2010, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. {{{Hugs}}} and Thank you!

  2. Great post Cassie! If I could hug you right now, I would!

  3. Any excuse to hug Cassie and make her feel all uncomfortable.

    K, srsly,
    Thank you to you and to all the servicemen and women that put their asses on the line for this country.

  4. You don’t like hugs; I don’t like push ups. Sometimes we all have to endure what we don’t like. So, stand up and receive… ten … hugs. Or something like that. I’ll drop down and give you twenty.

    Thanks for your service!

  5. You ARE a veteran, and I appreciate your service!

  6. Thanks to you Cassie. You’re a veteran even if you never got shot in the ass.

    (Can I say that here?) LOL

    HUGS!

  7. I can see Cassie yelling at 17-year old Luca one day…

    “When I was your age, I went out and broke my hip for my country! The least you can do is get a job!

Leave a Reply

