Please don’t call child services on me.

My three year old has an unhealthy obsession with vacuuming. As we speak, she’s vacuuming saying, “Don’t get grouchy on me!”

A normal conversation goes as follows:

“So whatcha wanna do today? Go to the park? The gym? Play hockey?”

“I wanna vacuum!”

“No, really. Does the gym sound like fun?”

“I vacuum first, right?”

“Hmm.”

Every night when dinner’s cooking in the oven, I vacuum the rug. It was my mistake to purchase a black rug with a white dog. Oops. Either way, it’s a daily occurrence. A few weeks ago, Claire said, “Mama! I try?” And I figured, where’s the harm? Prior to this, she’d ‘vacuum’ with the ball popper or Swiffer. Fair enough.

Dyson is as tall as she is. I’m not exaggerating. Yet, there she is, Dyson in hand cleaning my floors.

I suppose I should enjoy it while I can since she’ll rebel in a few years when I make her do chores.

Before this, her basic ‘chores’ were to clear her plate after every meal, make sure her dirty clothes go into the hamper, and take groceries out of the bags after shopping. Not a big deal.

Yup. My three year old loves to vacuum. Huh.

**********

Quick random note: I’m making dinner and baking peanut butter blondies for work tomorrow at the same time. My kitchen smells, interesting. Like mashed potatoes and peanut butter. However, to a pregnant woman, it’s intriguing. Wonder how it tastes together?

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 12, 2010, in Cassie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Enjoy the help while you can and don’t look back. Like you said, it’s not going to last forever.

    OR, you might have a fledgling Martha Stewart on your hands.

    I’d totally dip the cookies in the mashed ‘taters.

  2. Cassie, this is too funny. Claire sounds like an angel and you sound…very pregnant! When I was pregnant, I ate smoked oysters out of the can, jalapeno peppers out of the jar, and took spoons full of peanut butter, held them over the kitchen sink and drizzled Hershey’s chocolate syrup over it. That was just lunch! Enjoy it now. It will make you barf if you try it after you’re pregnant. 🙂

  3. A girl after my own heart. Vacuuming is the only chore I will do happily! LIttle kids LOVE to help and you have a few years before she’ll catch on and not want to do things. Gabriel is always asking to help with things, it’s great!

  4. Does she hire out? We have a house full of carpet and animals!

  5. I am assuming you have seen this:

    http://www.amazon.com/Toy-Dyson-Upright-Vacuum-Cleaner/dp/B00009W9JG

    Because the MINUTE I saw it, I wanted to buy it for Claire. And I would have, too, except that The Guy might’ve strangled me with my own ovaries. (We are in SAVEMONEYSAVEMONEYSAVEMONEY mode until December 1.)

Leave a Reply

