Firefighters are the bomb.

Last week, I asked a guy I work with if I could bring the kids by the VFD so Claire could check out the trucks and such up close and personal. She tells me on a daily basis that she wants to be a firefighter when she grows up, so why not indulge her? It’s her first career choice, you know. When I was her age, I wanted to be a hair cutter because I liked kids. Three year olds.

So we met at Sharpsburg’s VFD so the kids could get the royal tour.

Trying on the pants and boots first!

The helmet had to be held for her otherwise she’d have fallen over due to its weight. The suit alone weighs at least 25 pounds.

While Claire was getting suited up, Luca did what he does best: Check himself out and get dirty.

They decided that it was imperative that they bust a move in front of one of the trucks.

Claire and Luca each got a coloring book, crayons, badge, water bottle and tattoos!

All in all, it was a super fun time. I’m glad it happened today since Matt’s on a flight to Dallas right now and Claire was already missing him this morning. I think today helped her to forget about how he’ll be gone for a few days.

And I’m pretty sure this made their year.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 15, 2010, in Cassie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. She looks so happy she could bust. Luca should have a pack’a smokes rolled up in that sleeve.

  2. I love her in the oversized outfit. Once again a great mommy-kid outing! So much fun. My brother-in-law is a firefighter. I may have to steal this idea in a few years.

  3. IMMEDIATELY emailed this to my friend whose husband is a firefighter!

    Claire and Luca get cuter every single day!

  4. Love Luca doing what he does best “checking himself out and getting dirty”. Also love the tattoo pic. PRICELESS.

    As far as names go you should have stuck with one letter or some kind of theme. It would help now. Possibly. I started with the K sound Cade, Kegan, Caitria, Corbin, Kaia…and then had a miracle baby I named Charity. Then I felt bad cause she was the only CH. It was like the Pacman ghosts: Inky Pinky Blinky…and CLYDE. Then, when 7 came along I thought “Finally! I can name this child CH too and Charity won’t be so…’out there’.” Could I find a CH name? Could I find a K sound name? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    I ended up with Chayton. It’s Native American (like me), although it’s a boy name I decided it would work either way. There was no other name. Nicknames, rhymes…nothing was working for me. It was Chayton. PERIOD.

    After she was born and we took her home all happy with ourselves for sucessfully naming the child, her siblings couldn’t pronounce “Chayton” (rhymes with Payton) and called her “Satan”.

    Kids 1, Mom 0.

    With number 8, it was “screw it. Her name is Abigail.”

    Naming your children is one of the hardest parts of parenting. Seriously.

  5. Hey, Luca. Been working out? Going to the gun show? I like how he’s trying to make that tattoo move with his muscles.

  6. Love the first two pictures of Claire in the fireman’s suit! And Luca looks all rough and tough with the tattoo! haha he’s too cute!

  1. Pingback: Firefighters are the bomb part deux | Sisters From Different Misters

  2. Pingback: Firefighters are the bomb: part trois. |

Leave a Reply

