a Christmas endeavor and temporary insanity

This year for the holidays, Carly and I sort of decided to make our gifts for each other. I immediately knew what I was going to make for her and Ben and got to it right away. It wasn’t an easy task, so I figured, knock it out waaaay before it was due.

I finished it in September.

Now, as the holidays are starting to close in on us, I realized that I really should get a leg up on all the projects I have in store for the remainder of my family.

For my in-laws, I’m making them pillows for their new couch they just bought. I found this really sweet fabric and it was ridiculously on sale and it isn’t girly at all. Since my father in law is the main user of the couch, even though he rarely sits still, I figured I’d have to cater to him.

For Claire and Luca, I’m making them beanbag chairs. At the same site I found the in-laws’ fabric, I found perfect fabric for the kids. However, on my search for beanbag filler, I was incredibly awe-struck. Do you know how expensive beanbag filler is? It’s atrocious. Now I know why, as a kid, when Mom would buy us beanbag chairs and they’d start to die from lack of stuffing, we’d just buy new ones. But I think I’ve found a way to remedy that. I’m going to put thick foam at the bottom to anchor the chairs and then fill the rest with the beans. Plus, I found good quality ones that isn’t Styrofoam so hopefully they’ll keep their fill.

For the entire family, we’re making applesauce ornaments. If you can think way back to Elementary school, I’m sure you remember making these. It’s when you mix equal parts applesauce and cinnamon to a paste like consistency. Then you roll them out and cut shapes out with cookie cutters. Then you cook them in the oven for 2 hours at 200 degrees or something. They smell great. Even the one I made way back in 2nd grade still smells fantastic.

And also, for the entire family, we’re making cookies. Each family group will get a dozen. And I’m going all out. Thanks go Joy the Baker, whom I’m secretly in love with, I will be making fantastically different cookies. Yet edible. And delicious.

Now, my married-into-family isn’t small. I’ll be making about 200 cookies for this.

I’m claiming temporary insanity.

Best part of all? Matt said he’d help. No, he actually sat me down yesterday and said, “I really want to be a part of what we make for the family this year. For the past 3 years you’ve done it all by yourself. I’d love to be a part of it.”

Sweet. He has no idea what he just got himself into. Poor soul.

We’re also making our paper bags for the cookies to go into. I’ve got it all planned out. And it involves stealing giant paper bags from Giant Eagle. And paint. Lots of paint.

And glitter.

Claire’s obsessed with glitter.

And I think that’s about it for now. I feel better having written out my crazy plot. Did you know I have only 4 weeks to accomplish all of this?

Eh, at least I am finished with all my Christmas shopping.

(It’s a rule, you know. I have to finish it all before my birthday. Which is December 12th. Not that I’m trying to point anything out. However, I will still be in my mid-20’s, so I’m still happy. Talk to me next year when I’m in my ‘late 20’s’.)

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 21, 2010, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You may only have 4 weeks, but if Matt helps you, it should be doable in 2, right?

  2. Cassie, I wish I could rent you for one week. You always get so much done and you are so well-organized. I don’t know how you manage it all, but you really are a Super Woman! I live on lists and post-its. One day I may need to put one on Rich’s forehead that says, “Please feed and water me!”

  3. Somehow I already see Matt backing out with a wide-eyed hysterical yelp. But you never know. 🙂 You’re so lucky to have all that family..although maybe not so lucky to have all that baking. I’m still debating that one. I love the applesauce ornaments. Maybe we can do that this year. Maybe. Hmmm. I hope your Claire is better. My Chayton had whooping cough when she was little (I was all “I didn’t think you could get that anymore.”) It was very scary, very heartbreaking to listen to her try to breathe.

    Here’s to happy, healthy, well-fed and very cooperative children and significant others this holiday season! 🙂

  4. I am so impressed and love all your ideas and projects, especially for the kids! I hope you post some pics.

    And also, I don’t think it’s considered “late 20’s” until you hit 28. At least that’s what I’m telling myself.

  5. Girl, you’re amazing! I’m going to have to Google this applesauce-ornament business – fascinating!

    I’m making a lot of gifts this year, too, since finances are somewhat tight after the wedding/honeymoon. Since I love aprons beyond all good sense and reason, I’m going to make a few of these:

    http://jonag.typepad.com/stop_staring_and_start_se/2008/12/your-christmas-gift-from-mean-apron-in-an-hour.html

    I made one for a friend’s housewarming gift Friday night, and it was very easy!

  6. Making beanbag chairs by your own as Christmas gifts is a great idea. I appreciate your efforts.

  1. Pingback: She’s Got Betty Draper Eyes « BachelorGirl.net

Leave a Reply

