Some of my favorite movie quotes

Because I feel like it, here are 15 of my favorite movie quotes:

1. Carolyn Burnham: Uh, who’s car is that out front?
Lester Burnham: Mine. 1970 Pontiac Firebird. The car I’ve always wanted and now I have it. I rule!

-American Beauty

2. Andy Dufresne: Remember Red, hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.

-The Shawshank Redemption

3. Itzhak Stern [to Schindler, presenting a ring] It’s Hebrew from the Talmud. It says, ‘Whoever saves one life, saves the world entire.’

-Schindler’s List

4. Jimmy Dugan: Uh, Lord, hallowed be Thy name. May our feet be swift; may our bats be mighty; may our balls… be plentiful. Lord, I’d just like to thank You for that waitress in South Bend. You know who she is — she kept calling Your name. And God, these are good girls, and they work hard. Just help them see it all the way through. Okay, that’s it.

-A League of Their Own

5.  Vizzini:  “Inconceivable!”
Indigo Montoya: “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

-The Princess Bride

6. Willie Mays Hayes: “Willie Mays Hayes. I hit like Mays, and I run like Hayes.”
Lou Brown: “You may run like Hayes. but you hit like shit.”

-Major League

7. Jenny Curran: Do you ever dream, Forrest, about who you’re gonna be?
Forrest Gump: Who I’m gonna be?
Jenny Curran: Yeah.
Forrest Gump: Aren’t-aren’t I going to be me?

-Forrest Gump

8. [Evelyn is cut off in a parking lot]
Evelyn Couch: Hey! I was waiting for that spot!
Girl #1: Face it, lady, we’re younger and faster!
[Evelyn rear-ends the other car six times]
Girl #1: What are you doing?
Girl #2: Are you crazy?
Evelyn Couch: Face it, girls, I’m older and I have more insurance.

-Fried Green Tomatoes

9. Maximus: What we do in life echoes in eternity.

-Gladiator

10. Terry Malloy:  “I coulda had class. I coulda been a contender. I coulda been somebody, instead of a bum, which is what I am, let’s face it.”

-On the Waterfront

11. Crash Davis:  “Relax, all right? Don’t try to strike everybody out. Strikeouts are boring; besides that, they’re fascist. Throw some ground balls. It’s more democratic.”

-Bull Durham

12. Dr. Evil: “You know, I have one simple request. And that is to have sharks with frickin’ laser beams attached to their heads! Now evidently, my cycloptic colleague informs me that that can’t be done. Can you remind me what I pay you people for? Honestly, throw me a bone here.”

-Austin Powers

13. French Soldier: “I fart in your general direction. Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries.”

-Monty Python and the Holy Grail

14. King Arthur: “Run away!”

-Monty Python and the Holy Grail

15. Captain Jack Sparrow: “Why is the rum always gone?”

-Pirates of the Caribbean

 

That’s all I’ve got. Any more to add?

 

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 23, 2010, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. “I gave her my heart and she gave me a pen.”

    Lloyd Dobbler in “Say Anything”

    “AAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSS YOUUUUUUUUUUUU WIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIISSSSSSSSSSHHHHHH”

    Westley as he tumbles down the hill in “The Princess Bride”

    “Mawiage is wha bwings us togevah today.”

    Priest from “The Princess Bride” (AKA the best movie EVER)

  2. Oh, God… so many… I could just submit the entire script for every Mel Brooks and Monty Python movie. Love the Dugan quote and of course the French Taunter. “I wave my private parts at your aunties!”

    There… that should get you some search hits for “hot south indian aunties”.

    “Get away from her, you BITCH!”
    ~Ripley from Aliens~

    “I have a vewy gweat fwiend in Wome named Biggus Dickus.”
    ~a speech impedimented Pontius Pilate~ from Python’s Life of Brian

    “I have 5 terrorists heading southwest on Bakalakadaka Street!”
    ~Gary~ from Team America

    “Leave the gun. Take the cannoli.”
    ~Clemenza~ from the Godfather

    In honor of the late Barbara Billingsley:
    “Chump don’t want the help, chump don’t get the help. Jive-ass dude don’t got no brains anyhow…”
    ~Passenger who speaks ‘Jive’~ from Airplane

    “Excuse me while I pull that out of my ass.”
    ~Samuel L Jackson~ from Long Kiss Goodnight

    “Come out to the coast… we’ll get together… have a few laughs…”
    ~John McLean, crawling through an air duct~ from Die Hard

    “Damn, shit, Respect my fuckin’ authoritah!”
    ~Eric Cartman, laying the smackdown on Saddam~ South Park: Bigger Longer and Uncut

    “I will not be threatened by a walking meatloaf!”
    ~David Kessler, to his dead friend Jack~ from American Werewolf in London.

    Oh man, I can’t stop… I love movie talk. I could add Kyle’s speech to Sara Conner in The Terminator about how it will keep coming and never stop. I could add the entire exchange between the troops and the General during the parade scene in Stripes. And the President’s big speech in The American President, and Independence Day. Belushi’s speech in Animal House about the Germans bombing Pearl Harbor.

    But I have to end this comment sometime…

Leave a Reply

