2010, I’ve got no complaints

Here we are. A few hours away from a new year. Woo.

See, I’m not one who gets excited for New Years. I don’t believe I ever have. I find I wake up and it’s still my regular life and a regular day. Only difference is, when I work, it’s holiday pay. Now that’s something I can get excited about. And how convenient? I work tomorrow! At first, I wasn’t too thrilled because I was going to miss the Winter Classic. BUT, it’s been postponed until 8 PM and that means I get to enjoy it in its entirety and not between enemas and med passes. Clearly, 2011 is going to be a good year.

PLUS, 2011 is the year I get my body back. Well, no. 2012 I’ll get my body back because I’ll be done with the nursing and such. But there won’t be a baby in my body for too long in 2011, and I can deal with that.

My New Year’s Eve is consisting of Luca jumping into the beanbag chair and Ben and Jerry’s Peanut Butter Cup ice cream. (Claire is with my Mom.) I truly know how to live it up. For real.

2010 in review:

10. Luca turned 1! That’s good for multiple reasons. One being that we didn’t kill him. I think that’s a big deal.

9. I ran and completed four 5K’s. My best time was 26:02 which is pretty decent since it was in April and I wasn’t fully trained for it. My worst time was 30:15 or something close to that, but I was 6 months pregnant. So I have no real complaints about that AT ALL.

8. I fought and won the Postpartum depression battle unscathed! Just in time to have another baby! Yes! No, really. That’s huge. Huge. Ginormous. Awesome. Just plain awesome.

7. I found that crafting and sewing was a good way to spend my free time. I’m lame. I know. But my daughter will tell you that the surgery I preformed on Staalsie her penguin saved his lackluster stuffing job. Plus the rhinoplasty I preformed on Doggie made his face look 20 years younger. That in kid world makes me an awesome Mommy.

6. The gym. I love, love, love the gym. And before I got pregnant with Baby Tres, I was in pretty damn good shape. Sure, it wasn’t post-basic training body, but it was a hot mother of 2 body. Damn straight.

5. I won the LPN of the Year award. That was humbling. Nurses are used to being forgotten and held at the expectation that we are super heroes. It’s nice to know that I was recognized by three colleagues, one being my LPN School Director who told me multiple times during school I had a long way to go to be a great nurse. And this year, I was recognized for being a great nurse. Enough said.

4. Claire learned how to spontaneously cheer. Think of Buddy the Elf saying, “The way to spread Christmas Cheer is singing loud for all to hear,” and taking it to the next level. Are we entering the gym? Sure, why not scream, “LET’S GO PENS!” Just had a great poop? “Crosby is the best!” is a great thing to yell. Having a tantrum? “BOO FLYERS!” is a great way to end it. (It’s also a great way to get out of time-out.)

3. Matt got promoted. After years of working incredibly hard, he was promoted to management where he even gets his own team. I’ve never been more proud of him.

2. Carly graduated from grad school with a Masters in History. Not to mention in this crappy-ass economy, she managed to get a job! Sure it’s in a Mine and it’s all security ridden and you have to walk a million miles into it just to get to your office…it’s a JOB! She went from working at Staples to having a real-live job! That’s pretty much a big deal if you ask me. While I still think her best job ever was to babysit my kids for free on Fridays, I suppose having a real job is better at paying the bills. Even if my kids paid her bills of LOVE. That’s right. I said it.

1. Baby #3! After an odd feeling and peeing on a stick, I came to find (3 hours AFTER I peed on the stick,) that I was pregnant with baby #3. What makes this baby extra special is that it is the tie breaker. However, Matt and Luca understand that they only get one vote in the house each, as opposed to Claire and I who each get two votes. Regardless of the gender of this child, the guys are still out numbered. And if we have to get down to specifics, all the animals are girls, too. So there.

So 2011, you’re going to be a good year. Starting with a Winter Classic and doing what I do best, or at least get paid for, being a nurse for 12 hours. Bring. It. On.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on December 31, 2010, in Cassie and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What a fantastic year! Can’t wait to hear about baby #3 in 2011. It’s going to be a great one. Happy New Year!

  2. I look at New Years as akin to watching your car odometer roll over. It’s kinda cool, but it goes quick and doesn’t really add up to much. But any excuse for a party…

    Oh, and you forgot Event #1A… meeting all those cool bloggers at the Darwinfish Fry!! I’m sure is was just an accidental oversight…

  3. What a great year you’ve had. I’m so happy I’ve gotten to know you!

Leave a Reply

