Creativity has no limits

I don’t make New Years Resolutions. I think they’re usually left unkept. So instead, I make goals and loose ideas that could possibly stick.

One of the things I am hoping will stick is trying out new meals for dinner. It’s no secret that I’m probably the world’s pickiest eater. And with having a husband who’s willing to try anything, it makes his life a bit boring. I’ve been on a food blog search for a while now and found a few that have promising ideas.

I started my food venture with making a Galette, something I’ve never tried before. And it turned out delicious. Even Claire liked it and she asks for it often.

But my problem with cooking is that I don’t measure, I delete ingredients and I don’t remember what I did to make it taste good.

Matt said he wanted sweet potatoes with dinner. He’s never liked them before, but recently found a love for them. So, tonight I made up dinner. And what do you know? It turned out good! So I’m writing it down here, so that I have reference to what I made. Because it was delicious. And I want to remember for future reference. And no, this won’t turn into a food blog… unless I keep making good food. It’s my blog, I do what I want.

Roasted Maple Dijon Chicken:

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut in half
2 large sweet potatoes, cubed
4 or 5 carrots, in large chunks
maple syrup
olive oil
dijon mustard
ground thyme
garlic powder

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

In a greased pyrex pan, place the chicken and veggies spread flat. In a separate bowl, mix together equal parts dijon mustard and maple syrup. Mix in about 2 tbs olive oil, a dash of thyme and as much garlic powder as you like. Whisk together and drizzle over top of chicken and veggies.

Turn veggies half way through cooking time. Cooking time varies. For me, it took 45 minutes. No one likes dry chicken.

****************

Also on my creativity binge, I have been taking things I already have and making them so much better. My grandpa made a table for me years ago when I first moved to Pittsburgh and when he made it, he was under the impression that I was going to paint it so he used black screws and such. I ended up leaving it unfinished for years and it got beat to hell. This summer I spray painted it a black lacquer. Spray painting leaves much to be desired, so I painted it with actual black lacquer and it looked a little better. The top needed to be sanded and I just didn’t feel like doing that. So instead, I turned it into an ottoman by upholstering it with leftover fabric I had from reupholstering the nursery glider and added batting.

I also am in the process of making a birthday gift for Carly and that will get posted after she opens it.

My ultimate dream would be to go to Construction Junction and find something REALLY AWESOME that needed the Cassie touch this summer. I’ll know it when I see it.

My summer project this year, though, will be to take our old dinner dishes and paint them and break them and then turn them into mosaic stepping stones. If that turns out, I’ll write down how I did it and share. Promise.

So… did you guys do anything creative lately?

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on January 21, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. The ottoman is still a table, too! Bi-functional – clever girl 😉

  2. Oh, and I’m gonna share my new favorite way to eat sweet potatoes:

    3-4 medium sized sweet potatoes, cut in half lengthwise, then in 1″ chunks
    1 tbsp. olive oil
    2-3 tsp. Old Bay seasoning

    Toss all the ingredients together and spread on a sheet pan. Roast in a 400 degree oven for about 30-40 minutes.

    I’m telling you, the flavors of the Old Bay seasoning and the sweetness of the sweet potatoes is a match made in heaven.

  3. HA! I was just about to post on Facebook, “If you come to my house today, you just might get spraypainted along with everything else.”

    I spraypainted an old wicker chair my mom gave me, and it went from boring tan to bright, shiny red, and I spraypainted this old, beat-up craft table that one of The Guy’s roommates left behind eons ago, so now it’s got a nice white plastic top again, and it’ll make a perfect sewing table.

    I was also going to spraypaint this old dresser mirror he has, but I had to fix it with Liquid Nails first, so I have to wait for it to dry.

    • I LOVE spray paint. Just not for wood tables. I have rehabbed many a mirror and wicker piece in my day. It makes things look so new and for SO cheap. I frosted our front windows so now we have privacy glass. Best 7 dollar investment ever!

Leave a Reply

