I’m not dead yet

I’m reminded of one of my favorite scenes in Monty Python and the Holy Grail when they’re going through the streets with a wagon screaming, “Bring out your dead!” and a man says he has one for the collector, yet the body is saying, “But I’m not dead.”

It continues on with the two men debating over the ‘corpse’ while the ‘corpse’ is saying in the background, “I think I’ll go for a walk!” and  “I feel happy!”

So the dead collector takes his mallet and whacks the old man over his head and collects his body.

That’s about how I feel.

Last night, I was up – AGAIN. If I didn’t have this blasted sinus infection, I would have been able to still go to work, but the headache, the pressure, the fact that I felt like someone punched my left cheek bone, I couldn’t work like that. So sadly, I called off.

My boss called the house while I was in the shower feeling half-alive and talked to my husband. Matt doesn’t sugar coat. It’s a gift, I swear. So when she said, “So really, how’s she doing?” he said, “She’s a hot mess.”

When I called her back, we made an agreement. I’ll work only 4 hours tomorrow instead of my 12 and go to my Ethics Council Meeting on Tuesday and then my maternity leave will begin.

I can’t say that I’m thrilled about it all, but there it is. As lame as the statement is, it’s not about me, it’s about the baby and how much more I can take. Which at this point, isn’t much. If I hadn’t gotten this cold, then all would be peachy-keen. But, the truth is, I got sick and now I’m paying the price: early maternity leave. Whatever. Now I’m fine with the baby coming whenever. Super Bowl Sunday, perhaps? That could be fun.

In other news – my Mother is convinced the sun came out. I’ve got a window to my right and a sliding glass door to my left and I missed the show, apparently. Or the sun only showed up in a town 15 miles away. To which I say is crap.

Or she’s delusional. (Which could be SO fun.)

However, I should be nicer to her. She has cooked me dinner three times this week, with tonight being number three.

I love you, Mom.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on January 28, 2011, in Cassie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I know what you mean about work. Even though I am anxiously awaiting my maternity leave, I still have a bunch I want to get done first. Like you, I’m struggling to listen to my body when it says, “Ok, it’s time to stop now.”

    I hope you feel better soon! You have enough going on without having to fight your sinuses.

  2. Only you would complain about taking maternity leave one week earlier than you had planned. Silly woman! You know this cold is your body’s way of telling you to take it easy, right? Still, I don’t wish you sick, so I hope it decides to leave your body soon so that you can enjoy the remaining few days of baby inside. Love you!

  3. Your husband did the right thing. (Raising a glass to Matt…)

    Now take it easy, chickie. Or at least as easy as you’re capable of taking it.

  4. I would pay good money to hear Matt tell a doctor that you’re “a hot mess.”

    I’m so glad you’re on the mend!

Leave a Reply

